Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Private
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 1,615

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Ryan High School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Archbishop Ryan is a fantastic school where the faculty and staff care about the teenagers that are under their care. Their theater and sports programs, along with all of their extra-curricular activities elevate the school above and beyond the other high schools in the area.The school seems large at first but it is easy to navigate and the co-educational system allows healthy competition for academic standings between both young men and women that attend there.

Archbishop Ryan High School 2

Posted February 10, 2014
- a community member
Honestly, the staff in this school are terrible ! The south side of the school ( where the tuition is paid) everyone is lovely. Any other office if full of miserable individuals. They give you problems for anything and I do agree that it's more of a prison. We have a tracking system and the slower kids in slower tracks get not respect, they are treated like less than the honors and higher track students. AR does not prepare you for college and I HIGHLY do not recommend attending this school. There is barley any diversity in this school and the racial comments I've heard about other in my four years are horrible. I must say I'm more than happy about graduation this year


Archbishop Ryan High School 2

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Although this school has a terrific curriculum with many AP offerings, I just couldn't get a grip on what their mission was. I felt like it was a chaotic place and my daughter would not excel here. Something needs to be done to make the school appear more structured and organized. When we toured Ryan in 2011, my daughter was in grade 7. She is now a Freshman at St Huberts. I have nothing against Ryan, but my daughter preferred an All girls environment. Ryan didn't leave the same impression on her or myself that the area All Girls schools like Nazareth & St Basil's Academy and St Hubert's did. I think you have a lot to offer, but you need to market it better.

Archbishop Ryan High School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a community member
i always wanted to go to this school but i am not sure if i am my parents are looking to send me to Masterman but i think this school is a much better choice for me.

Archbishop Ryan High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
ARHS is a wonderful high school that helps children grow and learn in an atmosphere that is safe and accepting of all ethnic backrounds. They receive a quality education by highly trained and motivated teachers.


Archbishop Ryan High School 2

Posted August 26, 2010
- a parent
The first few days of school, when I sent my child to this school, he came back telling me that he was being bullied by many of the students that attend this school. At an instant, I transferred him to another school.

Archbishop Ryan High School 1

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Archbishop Ryan High School 3

Posted February 22, 2010
- a community member
AR is a good school in all, but there are many things that need to be addressed. The rate of lockers being broken into is extremely high, and the faculty does nothing but blame the person who lost items saying 'they did not properly lock there lockers'


Archbishop Ryan High School 4

Posted January 14, 2009
- a community member
Archbishop Ryan is a great school. Contrary to the other reviews, the school is not very diverse BUT it is improving. I am african american. My freshman year there were only about 15-20 of us out of about 2500 students Trust me; no exaggerating, we all knew each other. As long as you get involved and participate in any way that you can you will not feel lonely at this school. The teachers even invite you to join clubs if the see that you are lonely or even unenthusiastic. If you want your child to have a dose of the real world send them to Ryan. I guarantee they will become well rounded individuals. I never thought I would say this my freshman year but here I am!

Archbishop Ryan High School 5

Posted January 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Ryan High School
11201 Academy Road, Philadelphia, PA  19154
(215) 637-1800
Last modified Archbishop Ryan High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Ryan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top