Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
149 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Cross Parish School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are great and work so hard they want every child to succeed. Too bad that a few parents want to be lazy and not help out.

Holy Cross Parish School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are great roll models, since this is a catholic school they know there is no tenure but they earn their place every year. What a great staff at this school.


Holy Cross Parish School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
My child has always been given the proper amount of homework. It is what they need to know to learn and be successful.

Holy Cross Parish School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The students are taught to work hard and it will payoff in life. They know they always will be helped to succeed and don't let other negative influences pull you down.

Holy Cross Parish School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Yes the students are always respected as are the parents. Disrespect is not tolerated. If your looking to give attitude and lie move on...


Holy Cross Parish School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
They teach the children how to act by modeling what they need to do. The entire staff are great role models.

Holy Cross Parish School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
It is so great how they teach the students the proper ethics and morals that are lacking in the local public schools.

Holy Cross Parish School 5

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
This school is fantastic. The staff cares so much for the children. I wish I found this hidden treasure sooner so my older children could have attended. They don't put up with any nonsense. There is no bullying or trouble like the local public schools have. My child has learned so much and is ahead of his friends. They have extra free tutoring available and really work with the parents. God Bless this place!!!!


Holy Cross Parish School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Great place and teachers that care, love that my child loves this school. I recommend it to everyone I know.

Holy Cross Parish School 5

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
This school is really good. The teachers work so hard and really are receptive to the parents concerns. The principal and his staff call you back very quickly and he is never too busy to meet with you. They have a great aftercare program and summer camp. I feel bad for the teachers when they get a parent who won't admit when their child is wrong or acts out because of their own failings as a parent. I looked at the review below me and have to say if your child acts up so much that you need to go on a field trip with them I would say you need to stop blaming the school and look at whats causing this behavior at home. I have been at this school for years and never experienced what they are saying. I love this school and recommend it to everyone. If you don't like it put your child in the local public school and they can behave any way they like. At Holy Cross you need to be involved as a parent not just say things and not follow through. Stop trying to tear down a great place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross Parish School
144 East Mount Airy Avenue, Philadelphia, PA  19119
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (215) 242-0414
Last modified Holy Cross Parish School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top