Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Innocents Area Catholic Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $65,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2008

I am a former student of Holy Innocents and I could not be more pleased with the education and guidance I received while I was in attendance. My father was overseas in the Iraq war while I was in school and my teacher, a nun by the name of Sister Catherine, was amazing. She was very helpful when I needed an ear and was completely understand when I lashed out. I completed my Holy Communion there and if I ever move back to Juniata Park Holy Innocents is the school I will send my children to. I am not putting down public school education seeing as I did graduate from a public high school. However, the foundation I received at Holy Innocents was why I was able to graduate in the first place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2006

Holy Innocents School provides students with a good education. My child attends learning support classes so he can go at his own pace. The school has been able to provide transportation and after-school care, and I can work to support his education. The Home and School Association provides many good activities for the students and families. The faculty and administration truly care for the students at Holy Innocents School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

I am a former teacher at Holy Inn. Get your child out while you can! The leadership is a joke. The principal does not know anything about instruction or children. I went to public school and am constantly amazed at how well organized and staffed that is - all I heard at Holy Inn was how bad public school is! If you have the option, send your child somewhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2005

This school was a great school at one time but has recently taken a dive. I thought so many times, what am I paying for, the only thing i saw differently was that they have a religion class. A relative of mine whos daughter goes to a public school seems to have a more diverse schedule at school and seems to like it alot more than my daughter likes this school. As far as conduct in that school it is a joke, children get away with way to much especially bullying. I dont' think my daughter has been challenged enough in this school. She is a A student and is very unhappy, so we are pulling her out this year to be at a better school. I feel like all Holy Innocents did this year was take my money. With the increase of tution most of us cant' afford it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

the tuition for this school is among the lowest in the city. it is the lowest in the area. they work hard to keep costs down. parents also work hard contributing to fundraisers and volunteering. the religious education is outstanding but the math and stuff isn't well organized with everyone teaching different things. my 2nd grader complains that the other 2nd grade class has been doing their times tables and they're not. but he finished learning cursive already and the other class isn't. I worry that could cause problems in later grades with 1/2 the kids playing catch up and the other 1/2 having to wait. I wanted the best education for my kids possible. I kinda feel like I'm getting it but sometimes I'm not as sure. overall I'd have to give the school a great rating. the staff is wonderful and they realy care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Why do parents pay too much tuition to educate their children? my daughter is going there for the 7th grade. How can I get lower rates or some kind of help? I want to keep her in the Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 7%
Asian 20% N/A
White 20% 74%
Black 6% 16%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1312 E Bristol St
Philadelphia, PA 19124
Phone: (215) 743-5909

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hopkinson Francis School
Philadelphia, PA





Northwood Academy CS
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT