Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Philadelphia, PA

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Name of Jesus 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
This was the best school my children ever attended, it was a family. Everyone cared about your children.I was so sad to see it close. May God bless all of Holy Name's staff and the families touched by them. Father Greg will always have a special place in my family's heart.

Holy Name of Jesus 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
My child is going to Name for the first time this year and absolutly loves it. He likes his teachers and is actually excited about learning. We love Holy Name.


Holy Name of Jesus 4

Posted March 15, 2006
- a former student
I graduated from holy name of jesus and i think that that school was a good school. I know that if it wasnt for most of the teachers ther then i wouldnt be were i am today. I only graduated in 2004 and i pam allready going places in my life , they helped me get into a wonderful high school with many scholarships and i am very proud to say i graduated from holy name of jesus!

Holy Name of Jesus 1

Posted December 16, 2005
- a parent
Holy Name of Jesus is a horrible school. The only reason I send my child to this joke of a school is because the public schools in the city of Philadelphia are so bad.

Holy Name of Jesus 4

Posted November 16, 2005
- a former student
The quality of education at HNJ is good. Teachers follow a curriculum. Some children can learn easily and some children have a difficult time. Children that have problems learning are given special attention. I believe parents should be aware of their childrens'learning problems. Our new principal is wonderful, very caring and a good disciplinarian. Sister has started a childrens' choir. CYO is available to children in the higher grades. Parent involvement is not very good. It's always the same parents that get involved. More parent involvement would improve ths school.


Holy Name of Jesus 5

Posted November 15, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name of Jesus 4

Posted November 15, 2005
- a parent
I believe Holy Name School is as good as any other archdiocesean elementary school in the area. In speaking with other parents from different schools each school has their own strengths and weakness. Holy Name of Jesus was at one time a school which had 2 classrooms per grade, now it is one classroom per grade. Although it was the first Catholic elementary school in the area to provide pre-school programs along with full-time kindergarten programs. However with the rise in everyday cost of living people can no longer afford to pay the high tuition cost today. Music, Art, sports and many others are offered to the children. You can never have enough parental involvment when it comes to your children.

Holy Name of Jesus 3

Posted November 15, 2005
- a student
Holy Name is a good school. I think some parents are judging too harsh on the teachers. Yes, some teachers do not have control over CERTAIN children, but I believe and I am sure many other people believe discipline begins at home.


Holy Name of Jesus 4

Posted October 30, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name of Jesus 2

Posted May 01, 2005
- a parent
Holy Name of Jesus is a pretty good school. The academic programs are very poor in quality and quantity. Extracurricular activities- alright. but not enough! Parent involvement - slim to none.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name of Jesus
East Berks and Gaul Streets, Philadelphia, PA  19125
(215) 423-3334
Last modified Holy Name of Jesus is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Holy Name of Jesus Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top