Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nazareth Academy Grade School

Private | 1-8 | 237 students

We are best known for family-like environment.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $167,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

Unlike the comment from August 28,2013 this school is amazing. My daughter went to a different school and I see a huge difference. My son thanks me everyday for sending him there. As far as the clique that's everywhere but at least here. Great bunch of kids. If august 28th had issue in high school she didn't apply herself in grade school or maybe to worried about the cliques. I highly recommend no other school except nazareth academy grade school, Philadelphia also teachers are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This school offers great programs and a friendly learning environment. I love this school and after going here for 8 years, it has become my home!


Posted August 28, 2013

As a former student of Nazareth, I would advise you to look else where. It really isn't worth theigh cost. I went into high school feeling overwhelmed and ill prepared. Majority of the teachers are pretty mean. They offer Spanish, but after years of classes I came out barley abe to speak the language. Many students also feel very intimidated by ther teacher.Overall, the school is extremely cliquey especially among the girls. If you don't have the newst iphone, of shop at the cool clothing stores, you are dubbed unpopular. i have to laugh at their slogan, "We are known for our family like environment", this couldn't be any farther from the truth. Save your children the trouble, look elsewhere. It really is't worth the extra money.


Posted March 20, 2013

Nazareth Academy Grade School is a high quality school. My children have received the best education possible. The tuition is always rolled back into the school. There are constant technological updates in addition to current textbooks. Students have all needed workbooks and manipulatives. They are a progressive school that also fosters values and morels. Students of all faiths are welcomed and feel accepted. As a parent, I highly recommend Nazareth Academy Grade School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

I believe Nazareth Academy Grade School is the best gift I could give to my children. Like many other parents, I took selecting a school very seriously. I attended many open houses and picked Nazareth Grade School. Their strong academic environment is only one factor that makes this school excellent. Its has strong spirtual component, updated technology (smart boards in all classrooms) , open communication between teachers and parents, and great leadership. The principal is great. She is always open to new ideas from students and parents to enhance the learning experience of the children. My child was struggling with anxiety and the principal herself took time out of her day to give her a little extra TLC. Lastly, the parent association is strong and parents are eager to help and volunteer. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I am an alumni parent of NAGS students currently in college. Looking back I would not have sent my children anywhere else. Nazareth is an awesome school with excellent teachers and strong administrators. The foundation my childlren received has served them well throughout high school and presently in college. The academics, service-learning, leadership skills and moral values taught at this school are first rate. The students are friendly and respectful. The parent involvement is fantastic and despite what other reviews state, everyone is not "rich." The school families consist of many dual income parents who work hard for a top-notch education for their children. No one really cares what kind of car you drive - what really matters is what kind of person your child aspires to be. As for the appearance and cleanliness of the school.... for those reviewers who said the school was not clean, stop by the school and look how shiny and clean the floors are! The original school building is very well kept and the new four classroom addition is bright, airy and conducive to learning. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

In these tough economic times and people struggling to give their children the best education, I say Nazareth Grade School is the outstanding. They definitely are there for your child and family to work through this bad time financially in this economy. You definitley will not find a catholic parish grade school willing to work with you on your tuition, they just threaten to throw your kids out if you do not pay in full. Nazareth truly believes in the children that attend there and helps them to achieve, learn, and be caring. If there is a way for them to help you and keep your child in their school they will do it. It is very family orientated and parents are part of the students learning process. I rate NAZARETH ACADEMY GRADE SCHOOL ON A SCALE OF 1-10 A TEN!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I love Nazareth! It's an amazing school! The teachers care about every student and make sure that they get good grades. The other students are so nice and you make a lot of friends that you keep for the rest of your life. As I was reading thee other reviews there was one that stuck out. It said that the first grade teacher needs to have a "break" twice a day and eigth graders are brought in to watch the first graders that is NOT true. There is only only one "break", which is recess. Recess is for the entire school and only lasts fifteen minutes, its not just Nazareth ALL schools have recess. Overall, Nazareth is a great school. The academics are outstanding, the teachers are great, and the student body is friendly. I would recomend Nazareth.


Posted September 20, 2010

this school is worst school in the united states. the teachers are mean,all the students hate you if your not all ``Rich`` . There very expenisve and there is to many kids in the school,and very poor lack of cleanness. I`ll never send my kid there. Immanuel Lutheran is a much better enviorment,students are nice,teahcers actually care about you and it`s just over-all better. So if your looking for a new school,Immanuel Lutheran is the place to go.


Posted June 14, 2010

Nazareth is an amazing school. The teachers are so nice and they care about every student and make sure they get good grades. The kids are great too, you make a lot of good friends if you go to Nazareth.


Posted July 16, 2009

I love Nazareth!! It is so much fun and the teachers and other students are amazing!!! You learn so much and you are really prepared for high school. I recommend Nazareth to everyone!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

I think NAGS is a great school and although it is more expensive than a regular parish school, it's definatly worth it! There is some advanced classes which not all schools offer and I think that that is GREAT! The teachers and other staff members are really nice and caring! It's not just for girls and it's very well-kept. The only thing that I didn't like about this school were the student body. ALthough they are very helpful they aren't always nice and sometimes will only talk to you if you have materialistic things and often get too caught up in the aspect of socialization instead of learning. Other than that, I would definatly reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I agree with comments already stated. More geared for girls and class size too large. Tuition is double what you pay at local parish schools. The 'family' atmosphere was quite nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

A small school with very caring and dedicated faculty. Lots of parent involvement and dedication. My son and daughter were very prepared for high school in Reading, English and Social Studies. Math & Science curriculums could use some restructuring. Students were always in a safe and disciplined environment. Class size is large for a small school but there are truly no discipline problems which makes for a very productive learning environment. There has been a change in the Principal since my children attended here and I have heard school is improving each and every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

I think this is a wonderful school. It is a very family oriented environment where the staff truly care about the children. Everything that is done at this school is for the kids. I couldn't ask for a more caring place for my kids to attend school. I am an alum so I know first hand what it is like to be a student at Nazareth. A Nazareth education goes far beyond an academic level, the children are spiritually and culturally enriched. I am blessed to have an opportunity to send my kids here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2007

NAGS(the acronym says it all) is only interested in two things-money and female students to feed their high school. If you have a boy with a personality, avoid the school at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

Nazareth is a wonderful school with a lot to offer. The academics are rigorous, and our daughter loved learning while attending there. She did very well on her high school entrance exams due to their academics. They are in the process of building an addition to add a gym etc. Nice music program, sports are good but not excellent. High parental involvement. Nice, Catholic environment-I felt that the teachers and staff truly cared about us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

this is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2006

If you live in Philadelphia and want a Catholic education Nazareth Academy is the best choice. The tuition is more than the local parish school but it is well worth it. If you rate the schools that Nazareth competes with in both scholastic and athletic competitions you will come to realize that Nazareth is truly a great value. The tuition is thousands less than the other Catholic Academys in the suburbs. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

This school is great! the teachers really care and its easy to make friends when everyone treats you like family! Parents are always involved in fun things to make money for our capital campaigne all together I think its a school for you if you want your kid to be a well rounded good person.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 50% 2%
White 44% 71%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Black 2% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Greek, Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Greek, Vietnamese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sister Mary Ann Allton, CSFN
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (215) 637-5696

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Greek, Vietnamese
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Alpha House Kindergarten
All Saints Kindergarten

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Nazareth Academy High School
Holy Ghost Preparatory High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4701 Grant Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19114
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 637-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holme Thomas School
Philadelphia, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT