Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Ransom School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $107,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2009

Ransom is a great school! My oldest graduated in 2005 and my youngest in currently at OLOR. It really has been the best experience for both boys! It's like having your own private academy right here in Phila! The class size is awesome and the teachers are really great1 I'd recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I currently have 1 child in OLOR and my other 3 chilren graduated from OLOR. I also went to the school. It is a great school! The classes are small so it's like going to private school. The teachers are all excellent! The principal, Ms. McGuirl, and our Pastor, Father Redcay, both work very hard to make the school and church interesting for the children. They get a great education. My other children graduated from there, one is in college now, one will go in the fall, and the other is a freshman. If you are thinking about where to send your kids go look at Ransom!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

Our Lady of Ransom is alive & well. We provide an excellent education to students from Pre-K to 8th grade. We did not raise the tuition last year but added a Spanish teacher in all grades. Our students are eagerly recruited by all local high schools. We have many social activities for all ages.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 26, 2007

My child has been going here a few years now and in the beginning i thought it was a good school but now that there has been a decline in students it seems their asking for more money and if they dont get it they will continue to raise tuition like they have done for the past couple years its ridiculous.Tuition here is like sending your child to a private hs. Last year my child did receive what i believed to be too much homework, and now this year its one project after the other..is
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

this school has good things and bad things but they need to let the students socialize with other grades because not everyone gets along with people in their own grade. this school gives way to much homework. and too many projects at once. they need to have more sports teams and more events.


Posted September 26, 2007

I just transferred my daugther to this school and she loves it. The classroom size is just right and she really understands the lessons. In just about 2 weeks I have noticed a complete change in my daughter's attitude towards learning. She wants to learn ! Which of course makes my husband and I very happy with the decision we made in sending her to OLOR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

I have two children in OLOR and have two children that have graduated. The school is excellent! The teachers are the best! I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else. The class size is small so it's like sending you children to a private academy for a great price. I would recommend anyone looking for a new school or to switch schools to call for an appt to see the school. I graduated from the school and its still a great school and parish after all these years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

I believe that this school has changed their ways a little too much. As a former student there they really have changed and took out the great things about. I do agree there is way too much homework givin and I am in college and have less then that.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2005

I am a former student of OLOR. The academic program in my opinion is excellent. There is a new, developing music program, and an art program unsurpassed by many other diocesan schools. I would highly recommend OLOR.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 25, 2005

I am a student at Our Lady of Ransom. I've been in this school since I was in kindergarten, and now I'm in seventh grade. My school has been open since my dad was in grade school almost 25 years ago! My school gives great education to every race,color, and nationality. This weekend, our parish celebrates 50 years. I really do love my school, and when I head off to high school I'm gonna be very sad, but I will remember all the memories I had here at the best school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter has been in this school for the past 7 years. I feel it is a good school but they tend to give way too much homework. She has come home with a bookbag so heavy that she can hardly carry it and has spent up to 3-4 hrs. doing homework. I have mentioned this to the teachers several times......but nothing has been done. The onlyother complaint that I have would be that I feel that they could do alot more to help their students,when they are having trouble in a particular subject..........As far as helping them to comprehend. Other than that,it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 74%
Hispanic 20% 7%
Asian 11% N/A
Black 10% 16%
Two or more races 8% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6740 Roosevelt Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19149
Phone: (215) 332-4352

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mayfair School
Philadelphia, PA


St. Timothy School
Philadelphia, PA



Allen Ethan School
Philadelphia, PA


Spruance Gilbert School
Philadelphia, PA


St. Matthew School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT