Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
St Athanasius is a great school with the BEST teachers. My granddaughter is in the 5th grade and she attended this school since kindergardent,. At that time PRE-K wasn't existence. Overall I love this school, how the teachers work with the parents and they always keep the parents informed about the school.

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 4

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
My school is Saint Athanasius in Philadelphia, PA. It is a good community school. They could use more teachers to handle some students. Some students need more one on one attention.


St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 3

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
My son attends this school and I agree with previous comments. Its way too many kids in a class and the students arent challenged enough. I compare home work with other school of my friends kids and they are doing more. At St. A's I find the the cirriculum is mediocre. I expected more. 35 kids in a class....insane!

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
35 students for Kindergarten...INSANE This is the first aspect of poor quality education. Poor choice for educational institution.

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Class capacity way too high especially for tuition based school. Another aspect in the greed of the Archdiocese.


St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
My Son graduated from this school and both me and my son are very satisfied with the education that he received at St. Athanasius. So much so that he has enrolled his children in the school so that they too can be well prepared for higher education.

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 0
no rating

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
my daughter is in the 6th grade and last year was her first year at St. A's. 5th grade was great and her teacher was excellent. My daughter has struggle in school and needed a more structured environmental with a more traditional teaching approach. She got that and she thrived. Her teacher was very supportive and understanding. She spent time assessing my child and together we worked on a plan that would strengthen my daughters academics. I found 5th grade at St. A's to be exactly what my daughter needed. I have very limited experience with the principal because I was able to work through all of my concerns with the teacher. I don't know what 6th grade will be like but I will be monitoring very closely.

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 0
no rating

Posted March 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is one among the best! My children are receiving the best education here.


St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
I was part of the first graduating class of St. Athanasius Immaculate Conception school in 1988, my little sister attended this school for 8 years and I am fortunate to be able to afford to send my son to this school. However I am seriously reconsidering my choice of schools. The first 6 years my son completed in this school was good with little bumps in the road. His grades were above average. However now that he is in the 7th grade there seems to be a problem with his work preformance. When I attempted to speak with the school principal, she blew it off as if my child was a total disruption to the class and to the school. His current teacher does not seem to have control of her class. This feeling is shared by many of the parent that have children in this class.

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School 2

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
My daughter just completed sixth grade and I too find that the class sizes have become to large, the curriculum isn't up to par and there is not enough support when a child is having trouble (ex. math labs etc). I was directed to some web sites when my child was having difficulty or told to get a tutor. I have always sacrificed to keep my daughter in this school and don't readily have funds available for 'extra' help. Agreeing with the other parents, in the younger grades, I thought it was fine, but as they got older, theres no activities and is beginning to seem like they're just trying to pack them in. The discipline has always been fine, but I'm afraid that if I send her to Public school, she to will have to catch up - There weren't many projects etc. and its true, the principle's ineffective.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School
7105 Limekiln Pike, Philadelphia, PA  19138
(215) 424-5045
Last modified St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Athanasius-Immaculate Conception School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top