Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Dominic School

Private | PK-8 | 425 students

We are best known for welcoming environment!

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2011

This is NOT the school to send your child to if there is anything "wrong" with them. ADHD is something they have NO idea how to handle. They are simply not equipped. It's a perfectly wonderful school for the "normal" student - nice principal and great teachers. Just be advised of their limitations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

St. Dominic's teachers are extremely devoted and easy to talk with. They truly want to be at St. Dominic's and it shows. The learning support program is phenomenal and the special education teachers are extremely supportive and understanding. The principal is available whenever needed and is so gentle and kind. I am so happy with my decistion to send my child to St. Dominic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

My Teachers are awsome! I am very happy my parents sent me here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

St. Dominic is an excellent school! The faculty works very hard for the best of the students. They now have a preschool program too! as well as an art program. They have a 2 libraries, 2 computer labs, and a science lab. In grades 4-5 there is a Latin class. Also Spanish for the younger children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

St. Dominic School has been an absolute blessing in our family. My son has had an exemplory education at St. Dominic's. He has been there since Kindergarden and is now in 8th grade! Our family has the utmost respect for the teachers! Words cannot express our thanks to each and everyone of them. God Bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

This school is a gem that has an art program, science lab, 2 libraries, 2 computer labs, a lunch program, music program, math honors, student council, and a morning and after school program for parents who work. The Home and School Association is the best in the area. They come up with a variety of activities to entertain the children, and they try to come up with different fundraisers to help the school without straining the parent's budgets. Other after school programs are always doing community service as well as providing the children with great ways to socialize. The school has their own web site in which parents can check the calendar and read monthly news posted by each grade. It is a crime that more families don't experience this warm and inviting atmosphere. The school is always beautifully decorated, and always very clean. The faculty are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Let's just say St. Dominic is not in my list of favorite grade schools. I feel that there are no chances for the students to develop their social side. There aren't enough activities. However the students there are very hard working and really care about their education.


Posted November 15, 2006

Many (not all) of the teachers work hard for their students. They put in extra time, money and effort wherever needed. There should be more programs available for students after school. The principal should take a more active roll in supporting her teachers and in many cases- the parents. However, our children come home happy each day because they love their teachers so much! Overall, my husband and I are happy our children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 71%
Black 8% 15%
Hispanic 5% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Neumann Scholar (2011)
  • Middle States Accreditation (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Shaun Thomas, I.H.M.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (215) 333-9930

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Saint Dominic houses several unique programs. We have the Children's Literacy Initiative in our pre-kindergarten programs. We have two learning support classrooms. We have a Middle School Academy for students in grades 6 to 8.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Most of our students continue on in Catholic Education.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8510 Frankford Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19136
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 333-6703

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brown Joseph H School
Philadelphia, PA


Holme Thomas School
Philadelphia, PA



New Foundations Cs
Philadelphia, PA


St Jerome School
Philadelphia, PA


St. Bernard School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT