Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Visitation School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

As a graduate, I can truly say that my experience at Visitation is irreplaceable. Although the location is not the safest, I feel as though the principal and teachers do their best to ensure that the children's welfare in their first priority. The bond between the students and the faculty made me feel as though I was part of one large family. Teachers know the students' needs and always assist them accordingly. Overall, Visitation has an excellent curriculum and have become a safe haven for all children.


Posted September 21, 2012

They need to communicate more with parents regarding issues that come up in the classroom. I think their lack of communication comes from being use to a lack of parent involvement and concern. Location is horrible. High crime area and there are often drug users near school. I think the principal should be walking around the outside during dismissal to ensure the safety of the kids. In the two years my children went there I never saw the principal out making sure things were going ok. There are crossing guards and other parents out there but I just think it speaks volumes that I never saw the principal out there in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I had two children attend this school. It gradually dot worst each year. The staff and the principal were incompetent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I love the staff and the students. It's like a big family. My children have been going to Visitation since PreK3. The staff knows their names and many of the students do too. The school has before and after care. I know my children are very safe and well taken care of at Visitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

The staff and student really seem to get along. And that's something that can be appricated. I have no concerns as of yet for my child's education or safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Excellent school. Amazing Princinpal and Vice Principal they are firm, caring and extremely concern about the safety, education and behavior of the students. Misbehavior, bullies or students not following the proper school uniform protocols are immediately address. Faculty always available. The faculty is wonderful. My daughter is currently going to 3rd grade and has attended Visitation BVM Pre-K and she will definetely stay there until she graduates from 8th grade!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

Caring Faculty....Excellent Education. My son started when he was in Pre-K 3. He is now graduating from 8th grade. He really liked going to school and he was not afraid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Great School...excellent leadership by Principal and Vice-Principal...caring, dedicated teachers...After School and Summer Beacon Program. My children both attended this school and now my grandchild attends. I would not want them to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 8% 15%
Two or more races 6% 2%
White 4% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 East Lehigh Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19125
Phone: (215) 634-7280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brown Henry A School
Philadelphia, PA


Sheppard Isaac School
Philadelphia, PA


Hunter William H School
Philadelphia, PA


Willard Frances E School
Philadelphia, PA


Pan American Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT