Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Frankford Friends School

Private | PK-8 | 124 students

We are best known for peaceful, inclusive community.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $65,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

Frankford Friends is a great school. It is a perfect fit for my daughter. I love the staff and the community of families is wonderful. Parent involvement is outstanding. We found a great school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Frankford Friends has been an amazing experience. They are a truly nurturing community where kids have a chance to be kids and have authentic learning experiences. The middle school has been challenging, but the teachers work so hard to help students succeed academically while helping them become caring citizens. The tuition has been affordable compared to other private schools, and has been worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Frankford Friends is a small, community-minded, lovely school. My son, who is first grade, is reading beautifully and enjoys school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Frankford Friends School is full of teachers and even administrators who truly care about the students. The school is founded on Quaker values like tolerance and pacifism and truly keeps up with them.


Posted October 3, 2009

This school was amazing when I was a student there years ago and because of this school I was able to move on to other amazing schools. The values and critical thinking skills that are taught are priceless. This small little school is truly a diamond in the most inconspicuous of places. Furthermore, I am so grateful to them for allowing me to return and do my education field work for college there.


Posted November 3, 2008

My daughter entered kindergarten at FF this year 08-09 and she loves the school. The teachers are fantastic as well as the administration. The parents are wonderful and very involved as well. My daughter read me a book after being in school for 2 weeks and she is speaking spanish veyr well. They teach self-esteem and social skills as well as academics. I'm so glad I found FFS .... it's the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I love this school. The principal is an angel and the staff is fabulous! The principal, teachers, staff and students at FFS welcomed my son last year to first grade and it didn't take long for my brilliant, happy little boy to explain to me how I should save my money so that he can attend a Friends Schools all the way through 12th grade. The tuition is a little high but this school is much more reasonable compared to the other Friends Schools and the immeasurable satisfaction you receive with their caring, open minded, educational style is way worth the money. I would sell pretzels on the side of the road if I had to, to keep my son here. -Barbie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

Art, Spanish, Music all in PK-8, WOW! Parental involvement is outstanding. When the Art teacher took a leave one of the parents stepped in as the art teacher, you can't ask for more parental involvement than that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

We moved to Frankford to be able to walk to this special school. The quality of teaching is superb. I see children really thriving and blossoming here, developing their sense of self without fear of derision or bullying that can occur in a larger school. Class size is approx 14. The kindergarten fills up if you don't act early, but I think parents may not be aware that there are often spaces in the upper grades. If you have a child who is not happy at their current school, you should inquire at FFS. It's a great place to transfer into. My older daughter entered in the 3rd grade and it seemed to take about 2 days for her to feel comfortable! A very welcoming warm community of 120 students. Also, the music, art, gym & spanish teachers are excellent. Cool parents include artists, non profit sector, teachers, firefighters, nurses..cheap tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

We have found FFS to be a wonderful school that offers an excellent education at an affordable cost. This is a very special place founded in the 1800's. The small size (just over 100 students--not a typo--in K-8) means there is a tight community. Everyone knows everyone else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Very good school, but very expensive. Not the best of neighborhoods, either.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2006

Love it, the teachers are top notch, the children interact through different grades. It is wonderful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 5, 2006

Frankford Friends School is an excellent school. The principal, staff, parents and the children clearly show how much they care about the school. Teachers welcome parents suggestions and are quick to respond to inquiries. My son loves the school and the small intimate atmosphere. Children are challenged and teachers help to facilitate individual learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Wonderful education, private education that goes beyond preparing children for high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 23, 2005

Frankford Friends private school is one of Philadelphia best kept secret. The tution is very affordable and the quality of the education is excellent. The school promotes love and mutual respect for students and teachers. The school makes sure that learning is an enjoyable experience for the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 71%
Black 29% 15%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Bridge Film Festival - finalist (middle school) (2011)
  • Bridge Film Festival - winner (middle school) (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Penny Colgan-Davis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Friends
Associations
  • FCE

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • We welcome children of all religious, ethnic, racial and economic backgrounds.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Orthodox Street
Philadelphia, PA 19124
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 533-5368

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marshall John School
Philadelphia, PA


Stearne Allen M School
Philadelphia, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT