Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Friends Select School

Private | PK-12 | 552 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $416,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2011

I pulled my oldest child (end of first grade) because he wasn't learning to read fast enough and the school kept pushing us to "do something" as opposed to taking on the challenge. Interestingly my younger child's teacher didn't know he could read until week 6 of school when he was reading a book to me during drop off! Clearly, there is a problem with teaching. With that being said, Friends produces the NICEST children. But for 20k I want educated and nice :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I have had children in grades pre-K through 4th at Friends Select and overall my experience has been excellent. In the lower grades, one teacher and one assistant per classroom means an 8- or 9-1 ratio, which is tremendous. Of the 20+ teachers (classroom and specialists) that I have experienced, I have found all but one to be completely engaged and right on target for the children. There is a wonderful focus on seeing the light in each member of the community, and I appreciate that. However, they are generally teaching to the slightly above average child. If your child has learning differences, or wants a super challening environment, this will probably not be the right place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

My son is in Kindergarten, his second year at Friends Select. He absolutely loves school, and his academic progress has been outstanding. I am so glad we chose FSS!! A wonderful, supportive learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

My child is finishing Pre-K and the school is truly excellent. My child has had a fantastic experience, with wonderful teachers (the main teachers plus the 'specials' - art, music, science, PE). Even at a very young age they have used the resources of the city with many field trips to great locations. From the Head of School to the crossing guards to the people in the cafeteria, every person I've encountered has been warm, friendly, caring and extremely competent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

I currently go to school at FSS and i still love it. I have been going there since i was only 4 and its just great. My favorite part about it is actually knowing your teachers when they are not teaching you. And also knowing that your teachers will be there for you if you need them. Friends Select is not like any other school, and that is because you know everyone and you can have a relationship with everyone. We are actually coming to a time where the meeting house is going under construction. It is a little bit of a sad time because it will be the longest a lot of us have been out of that peaceful place since we were 4. We are a community that is very connected to our learning and our future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

Friends Select is a very nice school for kids that can reach above and beyond.


Posted April 27, 2006

FSS is only getting better. The new Lower School director is responcive and welcoming. He has changed the 'tone' of the Lower School. Parent envolvment now seems welcome and the environment feels safer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

Friends Select has so far exceeded my husband, and myself expectations. The children here are very independant, and are exposed to so many things on a daily basis. Computer games, science, recess, library, p.e, music, Art, piano lessons. There are just so many choices every day. There are a ton of parent volunteers. I am grateful. It's a wonderful place to send a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

Friends Select is a good school, mostly for it's diversity, resources, and extracurriular activities. The school is small, the type where everyone knows your name. Teachers give every student individualized attention. I give this school an A.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2004

As a recent graduate of Friends Select, I can honestly say that no other school could have prepared me better for college. I received an education with breadth and depth and have brought much of what I learned to my college courses. If I ever have children, I wouldn't send them anywhere else. The faculty are some of the most intelligent people I've ever met, and my fellow students were diverse and outgoing and remain some of my closest friends to this day. The administration is caring and accessible, and the school's resources get better and better. Going to school in such a lively cultural area, how could they not? FSS really takes advantage of such opportunities. A great place I will hold in my heart forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2004

Friends Select is wonderful school. A great place for kids to learn and expirence the world together. Not only accademically, but physicaly and emotionaly as well. my sister and i have attended Friends select over tens years now. Both of us have been here since pre kindergarden. Over the years Friends Select has become like a home to me. Everyone, supporting me and each other makes our community like a family. I have enjoyed every year here, and could never imaging going to school any other place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2004

The school is okay, but it is not the best for the extremely high tuition you have to pay. The teachers aren't very good, and the school is very small. I am not a parent, I am just a 5th grade student, but I know just as much as a parent would know about the school. We are not learning on the correct level. You should really think before you send your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 71%
Black 10% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Hispanic 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rose Hagan, Head of School
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Friends
Associations
  • ADVIS
  • FCE
  • NAIS
  • PAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17th St & Benjamin Franklin Parkway
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 561-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Russell Byers Cs
Philadelphia, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT