Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Project Learn School

Private | K-8 | 65 students

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $179,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2009

Project Learn is the perfect school for my offbeat and introverted son, and a very good school for my gregarious daughter. My son encountered bullying at another private school and was failing. He's now reading above grade level and is doing well in all his subjects and is actively engaged in the process of learning. The excellent, dedicated teachers and warm, nurturing community of students, parents, and staff make school a place where he's not afraid to be himself. Because of the mingling of grade levels for certain group activities, my kindergarten-aged daughter has friends all over the school, including her favorite junior high kids. The older kids tend to mentor the younger ones, rather than lord it over them. The art program is truly exceptional, and literacy, history, math and science are strong. Weaknesses are music and gym, and the lack of a foreign language for the junior high students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

After an exhaustive search of area public and private schools, our family chose Project Learn for several reasons: It is diverse economically, racially, and culturally; progressive in its thematic and mixed age teaching; and because I felt my child's creativity and individuality would be honored and supported there. My child feels safe at Project Learn - she knows who the other teachers and children are, she feels comfortable in different rooms, and if there is a problem, it can be dealt with quickly and personally because of the size and values of the community. There are general and specific ways each member of the PL community is valued - mainly the participatory nature of Town Meetings, co-oping, and even student meetings to voice appreciations and discuss issues important to them. PL is a living, breathing democracy. Yes, the sometimes inefficient aspects of democracy, but most importantly the values and opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Learning is a joy and an adventure for my child at Project Learn. My fifth grader is inspired and challenged by her passionate, experienced, and dedicated teachers. She has many friends from the entire diverse school community. The school really does value creativity, community, and progressive learning. In addition to an in-depth academic experience, this wonderful small school provides her an amazing opportunity to explore her individual strengths and interests in a climate of cooperation, respect and support. All of the eighth grade graduating students go on to attend the schools of their choice, including the best magnet schools that the city has to offer. Thank you Project Learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I love this humanistic school! I have a graduate from this school who has gone on and done well in public school. I have another one who will graduate this year and go on the the same public school and is feeling ready. And, I have a 3rd grader there now as well and he is learning in leaps and bounds. Because this is a cooperative school I know what happens in classrooms and have great relationships with their teachers. Like anything worthwhile its some work, but its so worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Project Learn is a community oriented school where children are nurtured holistically. My son is a second grader and has said he does not want to go to any other school. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

This school is a one of a kind. The staff is intimately involved in the lives of the kids. Learning and teaching goes on by both students and teachers alike. Together, learning becomes fun through hands-on activities and innovative projects.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2009

I have two daughters who graduated from Project Learn School. They went on to a very large suburban high school and were quite successful. They went on to colleges and graduate schools. In each situation they expressed frustration when working in groups with other students. These other students who didn't know how to work together, who didn't know how to share work loads, who had never been to a school like PLS to learn these skills. Even today in my daughter's work places they are amazed at how very few of their colleagues have learned how to work collaboratively, cooperatively and in a humanistic way with one another. These are the skills they learned in their years at PLS. These are the skills that they have needed to be successful in the 'real' world.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 10, 2008

My grandchild loves the school and is learning well.He was able to read fluently from the end of the first grade and is able to read all now.


Posted March 25, 2008

Project Learn - What a great school! I love this small, cooperative, school community. The school has fantastic teachers, supportive parents, a focus on social and emotional skills along with academics, and a philosophy that the school can encompass the entire city as a learning environment. Among other things, the school's progressive educational philosophy provides a great foundation for the future without boxing in kinds who learn best in non-traditional ways. The school's cooperative design means that all families are involved in the running of the school, either in the classroom or in a support role. Parents are welcome in the classroom anytime-- a sharp contrast to the attitude we encountered in the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

We have had 2 children attend Project Learn over the past 9 years. Younger kids benefit from the small environment and parent involvement. Emphasis on group dynamic supports both social and academic development, a wonderful environment for middle school. Great art program and great cross-curriculum teaching. The small scale of the school means that the make up of a class (kids and families) affects the dynamic of the group. Tuition is a bargain but also means there are limits on facilities (phys ed uses the back yard and a local rec center, the annual play is held at a local theater). Having a child now in public school we are aware of the tremendous value of Project Learn's low-stress learning environment where kids learn without pressure. The majority of students graduating from the 8th grade go on to Philadelphia public magnet schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

Involved parents, involved communities and involved teachers is what makes PL such a wonderful school. Cooperation, not competitiveness is stress amongst the students which leads to a comfortable environment. The students benefit from small classes and excellent art instruction. The weakest points are foriegn language and physical education for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

I am a former parent of a child who attended the school from K to second grade. I think the school is a wonderful place for kids. It is parent run. The teachers are of the highest quality. There is a great flexibility in learning. If you have a 6th grade kid who is able to do 7th grade math he or she attends math with 7th graders. I also like the mentoring program they have for kids new to the school. Every new child has an older buddy during the first year. They also have lots of non-competitive games and the kids seem to learn all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 71%
Black 38% 15%
Two or more races 12% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6525 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19119
Phone: (215) 438-3623

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Blair Christian Academy
Philadelphia, PA


Khepera Cs
Philadelphia, PA


Emlen Eleanor C School
Philadelphia, PA


Miller Homeschool
Philadelphia, PA


Greene Street Academy
Philadelphia, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT