Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-12|Private
330 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Girard College
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I am so thankful for my daughters third grade teacher Ms. Way! She is a new teacher and has been very helpful and patient while my daughter struggled in math. She has successfully aided Anyia in gaining more confidence in Math which in turn has helped Anyia bring her grades up. Also as an alumni she understands the struggles many students face which helps her relate to her students easily. For her to be so young and have the level of patience she has with the children is amazing. They all adore her and I am proud to see all that my daughter has learned this year because of Ms. Way.

Girard College 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I love all that is offered to the children at the school. They really push and help the children to enjoy reading. Many activities and services available to expose the children to all avenues. They have gym, health, library, art and music which a lot of other public schools do not have. My daughter is an intelligent thinker and she is a confident student who is learning self respect, self discipline, integrity and responsibility from the school and staff.


Girard College 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
Girard is a pretty great place. But it has gone downhill from let's say about 5-6 years ago. It's currently having financial problems and may or may not be cutting high school, and it's residential program, which was Girard College's main point. I have been in Girard for 7 years, starting from first grade, and I have to say, they were the best years I have ever had. The teachers are good, they actually care, and they will do anything they can to help you out. Though Girard used to be a great place, I can't really say much about now. They have dropped a lot of teachers, and students are leaving. But I know Girard will get back up on it's feet soon and will soon be back to the state it used to be in.

Girard College 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a community member
I've been attending Girard since 4th grade and since then I've developed such a strong bond for the school and people there. At girard there are many staffs and faculty who truly cares about the kids and they go out their ways to help us achieve. I absolutely love the place and consider it my second home. I wish I could graduate from girard but due to our financial issue that dream seems impossible :(

Girard College 5

Posted July 13, 2012
- a community member
I currently am a student at Girard College and I think it is the best school in Philadelphia.


Girard College 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a teacher
There is ONLY ONE, Hail Girard! There is NO such school in the entire world to my knowledge. It is NOT just one of the many and SHOULD NOT be placed among and compared to all other kinds of private schools, I really mean it!

Girard College 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
I have two brother and a child that have gone or are attending now. Wonderful school!!!!!In elementary School Every child take French, Spanish and takes piano. My daughter has stomped me with her homework wowed me with her writing and made me cry with the moving Spring and Winter concerts, plays and Community service. I hate not having her with us every day but its more that worth it for the education that she s getting. And both of those brothers that I talked about Graduated and got in to exceptional Colleges!

Girard College 3

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
The weekend program was terminated school year 2010-2011 indefinately. The school has been scaling back on enrollment and staff due to the economy. Check out the Philadelphia board of city trust web site for up to date information regarding plans for student enrollment and the management of the school. They have started a really neat nutrition program for healthy eating. However, there are some kinks that need to be worked out. The staff to student ratio is great in the elementary school. One major draw back is the lack of foreign language in the elementary school.


Girard College
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
They provide a full scholarship to all students. All students come from family's with one parent and financial need.

Girard College 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
Academics: Exellent Extra Curriculars: PE, Music, Choir, Yearbook, Tech Crew, Student Council, Super Troopers, Band, Dance, Drama, Acting, Science, Art, Computers, Libaray, Musicals, Plays, Talent Shows, Pagents, Fashion Shows Concerts, basketball team, soccer team, French class, Spanish class (Get to travel to Spain and France when your in 11th grade), flag football, football team, mentors program, trips and ETC

Nearby schools

Girard College
2101 S College Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19121
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (215) 787-2621
Last modified Girard College is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Top