Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-12
Private
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 1,129
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted October 01, 2011
- a parent
Lower school is rigorous and nurturing. New head of lower school is energetic, supportive and responsive to students and parents. The merger with Chestnut Hill Academy mostly affects the Upper Schools. Both Springside and CHA have committed to keeping K-8 single sex. Let's hope it stays that way, and that achieving the so-called "economies of scale" in consolidating departments doesn't adversely affect academic or teaching standards. For now, lower school is excellent. We'll give middle school a chance. Maybe administration will enforce school uniform standards by then. Most girls maintain an acceptable length on their mini skirts, but some are just downright jaw-dropping by how short they are. Overall an excellent school. Can only hope the trustees shepherding the merger between CHA and Springside keep academic standards and excellence at the forefront of their decision-making.

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 3

Posted November 08, 2010
- a community member
This school was meant to be on Great Schools is has everything good teachers good leadership and very hard programs,all of the above. That is why this is a great school


Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
I am very disappointed in the college placement of the students and SAT scores

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended Springside for 14 years, Pre-K - 12. She was challenged from the moment she started until the day she graduated. At Springside she found her inner artist, her inner athlete, and a life-long love of learning. The school taught her self-discipline, compassion, gave her impeccable study-skills and imbued her with the courage of her own convictions. The academic program gave her a deep grasp of international political issues and a love of literature, language and culture. She is amazingly well-rounded, self-reliant and independent--the school demanded this of her. Every girl should be lucky enough to attend a school like Springside.

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted June 23, 2009
- a student
I have been at this school for ten years and I believe that it is a great school because it raises girls to be responsible and powerful in all aspects of life. The coordinate program with Chestnut Hill Academy is different from any other schools, offering the best of both schools to boys and girls. There have never been any major problems and everyone behaves and performs to the best of their ability for the most part, whether it be in or out of the classroom.


Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 2

Posted March 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
I was skeptical at first of all girls education, but I've become a believer. In part, it's because Springside is neither a finishing school nor a place where girls are taught to feel superior to boys. Instead, it focuses on developing girls as leaders -- teaching them to be confident in their abilities, and willing to accept challenges. Academics are excellent, but without the pressure cooker atmosphere preferred by some (parents and teachers). Sports are improving. The physical plant is better than just about any other private school in the area, and the art program, in particular, is spectacular. My daughter is a lifer who started at Pre-K and is now in Middle School and she (and we) couldn't be happier.

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 4

Posted October 20, 2007
- a student
I am a senior 'lifer' at Springside. I haven't always liked Springside, but I have come to realize it is the best place for me. I have always been quiet and reserved, and my teachers have always commented on this--for many years I felt like they were trying to hurt me, but I now understand that they mean well and are trying to show me something very important--I am my own best advocate. Sorry for any misspellings--the screen on my copmuter is messed up and I can't see what I'm typing.


Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 5

Posted September 20, 2007
- a parent
Excellent teachers, technology and physical plant. Sports have traditionally lagged, but a new 50k sq ft. field house and a new AD will change that. Lots of parent involvement in lower school, but the Administration tries to wean parents off by Middle School, which is truly in the best interest of the children. Unique among girls schools because of its relationship with a boys' school across the street, Springside can offer the best of both worlds to girls. My daughter has been there since pre-K, is now in Middle School, and could not be happier or better educated. Note, if you really like 'traditional' education, ie, memorization, recitation, lots of grade school homework and other standard curriculum items, you may not like Springside. They get the job done, but they do it a little differently. I happen to like it, but not everyone is so comfortable.

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 3

Posted February 07, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
500 West Willow Grove Avenue, Philadelphia, PA  19118
(215) 247-7200
Last modified Springside Chestnut Hill Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top