Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

826 students|West Oak Lane Cs
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted August 19, 2016
- a parent
I am a mother of two. My second daughter attends there. She's doing great. Its in the community so very cconvenient. The teachers and staff are pretty nice . One flaw is that they tend to send student information for the following school year a little late for me. But besides that my daughter loves it and is attending the 5th grade this school year. Straight A student! I'm proud to be a parent of a WOLCS student. I highly recommend it

West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I KNOW WEST OAK LANE IS A VERY GOOD SCHOOL BECAUSE LITTLE GIRL GOES THERE AND SHE IS LEANING A LOT AND DOING VERY GOOD IN SCHOOL [ I WENT TO THANK ALL THE TEACHER AND STAFF FOR THAT ] THEY CARE ABOUT THE KIDS......Tahirah L


West Oak Lane Cs 1

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
There is no consistency with the administration in dealing with behaviors. The kids are outrageous and disrespectful to adults. Various teachers have left the school and now I see why. The administration set up teachers to fail. This is definitely not a good environment for teachers to or students.

West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
This school has been apart of my family since the beginning back in 1997. All five oft children attended WOLCS and I've watched if grow into something wonderful. I have four graduates, two at the top of the class and one who over came a learning disability with the help of their learning support teachers. This school set the stage for my three older children to be able to attend great high schools like, Girls High, Bodine, Central and Saul. My 2016 graduate is sure to attend an excellent high school as well. I don't know how my children would've turned out our neighborhood high school. I'm very thankful to all of the staff for all of their hard work.

West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted July 27, 2014
- a community member
I'm a student at this school and it's fantastic. I am glad my mother picked this school for me. I ran track and this is my last year so I'm looking for a good school like WOLCS.


West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
I am happy with the choice I made to send my child to Wolcs. The teachers and staff truly care and love teaching. My child has grown so much already this year!

West Oak Lane Cs 1

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
The review guidelines say that you should share what you think others should know. Without any editorializing (so as not to have my comment deleted as it was before) I simply state a fact. About a dozen teachers left during or at the end of the 2012-2013 school year. That is nearly 1/3 of the staff. Before you consider this school, ask the administration how and why so many people left. And don't let them tell you it's all about the money. Some left without even securing other jobs. That means something, don't you think?

West Oak Lane Cs 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a community member
I am the grandmother of a child who attends WOLC he very happy there. He could not wait to get back after summer. He is an honor student in the 3rd grade. At first I wasn't I to happy for him to attend WOLC because of other negative opinions. But! because of his interest, and his grades and how he enjoys the school my mind has changed. I see his work.


West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a teacher
West Oak Lane Charter School is a great school. The students are hard working and the teachers are dedicated.

West Oak Lane Cs 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a teacher
I love West Oak Lane Charter School. They are always trying to incorporate technology into their lessons and they try to stay positive when it comes to behavior.

Nearby schools

West Oak Lane Cs
7115 Stenton Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19138
(215) 927-7995
Last modified West Oak Lane Cs is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top