Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 130
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Calvary Temple Christian Academy 3

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
CTCA is a nice school. The school's strong points- small classes, safe & calm environment, friendly & nice children, caring teachers, Christian atmosphere, a variety of subjects (not just math & reading like in some public schools), trips & other fun events, and the Christmas program. The school could improve in the following areas- challenge students more (especially with writing), hold higher standards for teachers, lunch program, offer more in art & music. Overall, it's a nice school and you will have peace of mind but there is definitely room for improvement.

Calvary Temple Christian Academy 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
my daughter attended this school for almost 2years in march 2013 just before school was about to end they informed me that they were leaving my A B student back based on incorrect attendance!!!! CTCA IS THE WORST IN MY BOOK. Mrs.Waring


Calvary Temple Christian Academy 3

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
The school is ok. My parents took me out of that school because it wasn't challenging enough. I go to a much more challenging school now.

Calvary Temple Christian Academy 3

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
Good school. Don't like the fact that they bus from all over. My child had to wake up at 6:00 in the morning and then didn't get home until after 6:00 at night. You could see that he looked older than he was (1st grader) The teachers are great and so is the staff. We loved the christian atmosphere as well.

Calvary Temple Christian Academy
no rating

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
I am thrilled with small class sizes, individual attention, and loving teachers. This school offers a lot of extra curricular activities. There is great parent envolvement and activities and events throughout the year from the Fall Fun Fest to the end of the year picnic! Our child loves this school and so do we!


Calvary Temple Christian Academy
no rating

Posted July 21, 2007
- a student
Calvary Temple Christian Academy is a great choice for children in the city of Philadelphia. The 2007-2008 year will be my fourth year going to C.T.C.A. Parents, you will be happy with what you receive from this school. The teachers really have a heart for all the students that attend this school. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a Christian atmosphere for their chilren.

Calvary Temple Christian Academy 4

Posted March 19, 2007
- a student
CTCA is a great school! The teachers are so caring. CTCA is a good school BYE NOW!

Calvary Temple Christian Academy 5

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
Simply put: The children of this school are kind to each other. (That's unique in any tax bracket!) They treat each other and adults with love and respect. The reason: the discipline here is done firmly and with gentleness. Through the years, I've seen a few children scolded-it is always done in a way that lifts the child up, like parents would do themselves, because these teachers are filled with Christian love. Add to that: outstanding curriculum, enhanced with science projects, visiting professionals, Spanish, Art, P.E.,and Music, before & after school care. There even is an strong program for children with Learning Disabilities. You would have to pay 2 or 3x more to get this in most private schools. It's the best kept secret in South Philly. My daughter loves it so much sometimes she asks to go to early care or after care just to hang out with her friends and teachers.


Calvary Temple Christian Academy 4

Posted June 07, 2006
- a parent
A small school with a very caring, nurturing, but firm faculty, strong Christian principles and great role models for the children.

Calvary Temple Christian Academy 4

Posted May 22, 2006
- a parent
Small school that provides me with peace of mind while I am at work. It is a safe learning environment where Christian values are formed and valued. The academis program is outstanding and I am pleased and proud both of my sons attend CTCA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Temple Christian Academy
3301 South 20th Street, Philadelphia, PA  19145
(215) 462-2822
Last modified Calvary Temple Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Calvary Temple Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top