Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Public charter
Philadelphia, PA
Students enrolled: 459

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started in Kindergarten and absolutely loves going to school. The teachers are great. Principals are wonderful and caring. Learning to read, write and speak Spanish are amazing to watch - how the kids who put forth the effort evolve. My daughter is adamant about reading, writing and speaking it so she gives it her all. Overall I don't have any complaints.

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 3

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
The administration and faculty are very nice and my son has been exposed to a lot of culture and language. My concern with the school is the overall organization and the funding. I do not believe my son is pushed above and beyond academically. And it being an urban school with limited space, there is no playground for the elementary students.


Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 5

Posted August 29, 2011
- a parent
i love this school and so does my daugther she has been there for kinder, but went to pequnos pasos for pre-k, it was a smooth transition for her bc of the teaching enviroment. the class sizes are smlled and more focused on the students. my daugther is excited to be going to 1st gr this yr bc she will get to use her spanish skills more. she speaks fluently in both english and spanish but in this enviroment they encourage you to use spanish. i love the teachers and the staff, very well organized school they know all students by name, which says alot they care about the kids..

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 3

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
I love this school, My son was going to public school until I put him in this school. My son was always getting in trouble in the pulic school and his grade was not good at all. and now that he is going to this school he been doing way better. He gotten award for student of the month and many more and most important is that his grade when up.

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 5

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 5

Posted September 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 0
no rating

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
My son has been in this school since k. I highly recommend this school to anyone.

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
I love Hostos, My kids been going now for 3 yrs kinderm and I think the staff is great and the teachers are great to


Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
My daughter been here since kinder and i love this school my daughter did not speak spanish or read and its also safe and the teachers and staff are great my daughter also loves this school.

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS 5

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been attending Hostos since Kinder, she is now going to the fourth grade and I love hostos. Staff is always available and willing. I want to keep her in the school until the 8th grade and if a high school is made with the same philosophy I will make sure to enroll her. I would recommend more activities like track,baseball,basketball, among others that will keep the kids motivated and busy. N.carr

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS
432242 North 5th St, Philadelphia, PA  19140
(215) 455-2300
Last modified Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top