Advertisement
Advertisement

Cedar Grove Christian Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $138,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

Both of my children started here in nursery school. They have both since graduated and went on to two of the best schools in the city (4 years apart). They loved this school, we all did. The adults genuinely loved the kids, even the office ladies knew each child by name and the parents. I can not say enough good things about this school, its teachers and its administration. It is a family atmosphere, everyone knows everybody name. The teachers know mostly every child in the school by name. I would venture to say that this one of the best private schools in the city if not the state. My kids often go back to visit and say hello. Very warm memories in regards to Cedar Grove. If I ever come across a large sum of money, CGCA will definitely get a nice donation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

Academically sound, spiritually growing, great sports program, Various outlets for students involved in the fine arts. - Pre-school through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2013

My son has been attending CedarGrove since pre-k, he has been doing so well. The teachers are very imformative about the cirriculum, the school is very spiritual, the children are well mannered. My son will be entering the 3rd grade in Sept. he is well prepare for the grade. The entire staff starting at the office is professionally pleasant, they have no problem helping you. So far all of his teachers from pre-k thru 2nd grade has been great. I pray that he will continue to have great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

My son is coming to the end of his first year at Cedar Grove and it has been a wonderful year. He should have been in 2nd grade this year but coming from a public school there were some basic reading skills he was lacking that were made apparent when he was tested at the beginning of the year. I can definitely say that he has grown in leaps and bounds academically. His teacher is so encouraging and willing to assist in anything we need. And for the first time since he began daycare and school my son tells me how much he loves the school and his teachers. Whats more is two of his teachers were my mentors at a christian camp when I was in high school. It is also amazing to see the teachers pray with the students and over the loudspeakers every morning. The environment is very peaceful also and the kids are great. We did have some issues with behavior on the bus. But once they addressed it there have been no more problems. All in all I think Cedar Grove offers a great spiritual foundation and they have a caring staff that are genuinely concerned about the educational developement of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

This is a wonderful Christian school and my son loves it there. However, I believe that the faculty needs to add more updated tools and resources to their curriculum. My son has attended the school for four years and is presently in Middle school and I am not happy with his knowledge base of significant historical events, current political and economical events in our country and a broader perspective of different cultures and their backgrounds although the school contains a diverse group of students from multi ethnic backgrounds. Although the school provides a great Christian foundation for their students and offer a wide variety of extracurricular activities, it needs to take a serious look at revising its academic cirriculum to better prepare its students to compete against other students in our communities and nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Oh!!!!! I love this school!!!! The teachers are wonderful the students are so fun and loving!!!! I've been in Cedar Grove for 9 years and I'm in 8th grade. I will miss everyone at Cedar Grove and I HIGHLY recommend this school to all God-loving students in Philadelphia!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2010

It is a good Christian School.My 2 children went there. They are taught by good moral teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

This is my son's second year at the school. I choose this school because I wanted my child to attend a religious school with a diverse student body population and that would prepare him not only academically but also teach him some of the essential values that many children are lacking today. So far, my son loves his school and I am happy with the education he is being provided with. However, sometimes I think the amount of work he is expected to complete weekly can be a little overwhelming for a young child. The most significant thing that I am disappointed about is the fact that although the student body is so diverse, the faculty is not. I would like to see an improvement in this area. Otherwise I am okay with the overall experience that my child is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Cedar grove christian academy is a safe place for kids to learn .Children receive a good education and postive correctional dicipline aplying the bible when appropitate, most extracurricular activities begin around grade 4 ,however children may join indoor soccer in grade 2 also the school provides morning and afterschool care at a fair price.Lunch time is a quiet and the children eat without the distractions of multiple conversations ,the enjoy outdoor recess after lunch (weather permitting).I have enjoyed speaking to my children's teacher frequently without he need for a formal meeting each time. The headmaster is very involved and encouraging to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

The building is very impressive and offers a good place for your children to learn.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2005

I think that school has a great foundation. Not only acdemically but spiratully. I am so imppressed about children coming from other schools and having to be tested. This allows the child work on weaknesses along with their parents. I also like that it does not have one denomination it is just christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 74%
Hispanic 25% 7%
Black 17% 16%
Asian 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Jeff Howard
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACE
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6445 Bingham St
Philadelphia, PA 19111
Phone: (215) 725-3383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. William School
Philadelphia, PA





Franklin Benjamin School
Philadelphia, PA


Moore J Hampton School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT