Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
353 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

All three of my children received a solid Spiritual and Academic foundation from Cedar Grove Christian Academy. We thank the Lord for the outstanding teachers, loving atmosphere and excellent program that has all been a part of the Academy years. They are now all on to high school and college and have been the foundation needed to excel.
April 21, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Grove Christian Academy 2

Posted September 23, 2015
- a community member
Experienced some racist situations last year... New school year has started already experiencing the same thing. If your child is smart be prepared for the teachers to try to discourage them. You will definitely have to be your child's advocate here. For this to be a Christian school I would hope to see that lifestyle exemplified...If there were better public schools in the area my child would not go here. Thankfully my child KNOWS she can excel and nobody, as long as Christ is in her life, will be able to make her believe differently...everything else about the school is average.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
All three of my children received a solid Spiritual and Academic foundation from Cedar Grove Christian Academy. We thank the Lord for the outstanding teachers, loving atmosphere and excellent program that has all been a part of the Academy years. They are now all on to high school and college and have been the foundation needed to excel.
Posted April 21, 2015


Cedar Grove Christian Academy 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children started here in nursery school. They have both since graduated and went on to two of the best schools in the city (4 years apart). They loved this school, we all did. The adults genuinely loved the kids, even the office ladies knew each child by name and the parents. I can not say enough good things about this school, its teachers and its administration. It is a family atmosphere, everyone knows everybody name. The teachers know mostly every child in the school by name. I would venture to say that this one of the best private schools in the city if not the state. My kids often go back to visit and say hello. Very warm memories in regards to Cedar Grove. If I ever come across a large sum of money, CGCA will definitely get a nice donation.

Cedar Grove Christian Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2013
- a teacher
Academically sound, spiritually growing, great sports program, Various outlets for students involved in the fine arts. - Pre-school through 8th grade.

Cedar Grove Christian Academy 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
My son has been attending CedarGrove since pre-k, he has been doing so well. The teachers are very imformative about the cirriculum, the school is very spiritual, the children are well mannered. My son will be entering the 3rd grade in Sept. he is well prepare for the grade. The entire staff starting at the office is professionally pleasant, they have no problem helping you. So far all of his teachers from pre-k thru 2nd grade has been great. I pray that he will continue to have great teachers.


Cedar Grove Christian Academy 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
My son is coming to the end of his first year at Cedar Grove and it has been a wonderful year. He should have been in 2nd grade this year but coming from a public school there were some basic reading skills he was lacking that were made apparent when he was tested at the beginning of the year. I can definitely say that he has grown in leaps and bounds academically. His teacher is so encouraging and willing to assist in anything we need. And for the first time since he began daycare and school my son tells me how much he loves the school and his teachers. Whats more is two of his teachers were my mentors at a christian camp when I was in high school. It is also amazing to see the teachers pray with the students and over the loudspeakers every morning. The environment is very peaceful also and the kids are great. We did have some issues with behavior on the bus. But once they addressed it there have been no more problems. All in all I think Cedar Grove offers a great spiritual foundation and they have a caring staff that are genuinely concerned about the educational developement of the kids.

Cedar Grove Christian Academy 3

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful Christian school and my son loves it there. However, I believe that the faculty needs to add more updated tools and resources to their curriculum. My son has attended the school for four years and is presently in Middle school and I am not happy with his knowledge base of significant historical events, current political and economical events in our country and a broader perspective of different cultures and their backgrounds although the school contains a diverse group of students from multi ethnic backgrounds. Although the school provides a great Christian foundation for their students and offer a wide variety of extracurricular activities, it needs to take a serious look at revising its academic cirriculum to better prepare its students to compete against other students in our communities and nation.

Cedar Grove Christian Academy 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a student
Oh!!!!! I love this school!!!! The teachers are wonderful the students are so fun and loving!!!! I've been in Cedar Grove for 9 years and I'm in 8th grade. I will miss everyone at Cedar Grove and I HIGHLY recommend this school to all God-loving students in Philadelphia!


Cedar Grove Christian Academy
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
It is a good Christian School.My 2 children went there. They are taught by good moral teachers.

Cedar Grove Christian Academy 4

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's second year at the school. I choose this school because I wanted my child to attend a religious school with a diverse student body population and that would prepare him not only academically but also teach him some of the essential values that many children are lacking today. So far, my son loves his school and I am happy with the education he is being provided with. However, sometimes I think the amount of work he is expected to complete weekly can be a little overwhelming for a young child. The most significant thing that I am disappointed about is the fact that although the student body is so diverse, the faculty is not. I would like to see an improvement in this area. Otherwise I am okay with the overall experience that my child is receiving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cedar Grove Christian Academy
6445 Bingham St, Philadelphia, PA  19111
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (215) 725-3383
Last modified Cedar Grove Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top