Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The City School

Private | K-12 | 272 students

We are best known for Christian college-prep program.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2010

My daughter began CCA in Sept. 2006, and I was pleased the moment I walked through the door. The teachers are not only dedicated to preparing the students for academic excellence but also to be better people. My daughter graduated this past June, and is now on her way to Drexel University!! I am truly thankful for CCA, their love, support and encouragement, not only for my daughter but for my family as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

my daughter started attending CCA in September of 2009. i have called during this time about 100 times regarding my daugter road to maturity . the staff has always addressed my concerns My latest call was regarding useage of computers . my desire was to accsss info regarding my child daily progress and behavior CCA uses this as a tool for parents and students . on his day i called 8 times. finally i got it right. this is the same method CCA uses to education my child, if she doesn't get it right the first tme countless hours, days, weeks or months are put into her CCA understand that parent/student relationship is key. African Proverb; it takes a village to raise a child thank you i look forward to talking to you via phone or e-mail HAHA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

This school did nothing for my child. My student has failed college and cannot go back due to his poor grades. He was nowhere near prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

You have to be kidding. The administration is horrible and uncooperative. I'm beginning to wonder if these reviews are written by the staff themselves.


Posted December 1, 2008

This school is one of the best kept secrets in Philadelphia. I discovered this school by accident about five years ago while walking. I was behind a group of young students very neatly dressed in uniforms. These students were so ladylike and gentlemanlike I had to ask them what school they attended and they politely replied City Center Academy (CCA). Five years later I attended the Open House with my daughter. I can see why those students left a five year impression on me!! At the open house two student ambassadors gave us a tour and great insight about The CCA Experience. The school focuses on academics and there is a lot of work. The teachers prepare the students for success. I must say that my daughter enjoys school. If you re in the city you will notice a CCA student because they represent themselves and the school with dignity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

City Center Academy (CCA) is a wonderful Christian family of students, faculty and staff. The academic environment of excellent education professionals and the foundation of Christianity makes CCA a perfect fit for my child. I am the parent of a sophomore at City Center Academy (CCA). This is her second year at CCA and she is doing phenomenally well academically. What I cherish most is the growth and maturity I have seen in her Christian life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

I elected City Center Academy because of the small class sizes and as an alternative to the public school system. The administration was a disaster from the beginning of admission. The teaching staff does not work with the parents, they don't contact you with concerns. Thumbs down for CCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

Most School are not without their problems but CCA is a good school for college prep. It does prepare your children for higher education. The school is also very open for compromise and input from the students and parents if certian things are of an concern. However, parent involvement is low.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 3%
Hispanic 6% 9%
White 3% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Spruce Hill Christian School
other Christian, parochial, public, and charter schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Penn State University
Kutztown University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jake Becker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (215) 731-0515

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • City Center Academy is a private Christian high school that has offered superior college-preparatory education in Philadelphia since 1983. CCA welcomes students who are seeking personal attention at a small school with small class sizes, a curriculum that provides a strong foundation for college success and caring teachers. Students are encouraged to pursue learning, ask questions, and consider their own value and purpose.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Spruce Hill Christian School
other Christian, parochial, public, and charter schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Penn State University
Kutztown University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4115 Baltimore Ave.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 382-7839

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jubilee School
Philadelphia, PA


Penn Alexander School
Philadelphia, PA


Wilson Alexander School
Philadelphia, PA



Christ Academy
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT