Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christopher Columbus CS
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Serpentine worked great with me & my daughter Danielle in 2nd grade. My daughter was having trouble in reading. Ms. Serpentine made sure she communicated with me and made sure my daughter got the help she needed. She really showed she cared for her students. I am truly grateful for her.

Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
CCCS is amazing school ! Our kids are at 5th and 4th grades and they loved and proud attend at CCCS. The teachers and staff are great and nice. The educational is great than other school in South Philadelphia. We are blessed to be a parent of a CCCS students.


Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
I am currently in 7th grade at CCCS. I have been in this school since Kindergarten. I am already starting to be sad that I will need to move on for high school. I have had amazing teachers and support during my years here. I feel lucky to be a part of this school. I hope to come back visit when I move on to high school.

Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
I began my teaching career as a substitute teacher working for the school. Immediately, I was embraced by the administration and faculty. I served as a substitute teacher and eventually landed a fulltime position. The teacher turnover rate is very seldom, so I immediately accepted the position and have never looked back. I have been teaching at CCCS for several years. The administration is beyond supportive and caring. The staff, faculty, parents, and students are like one big happy family. The members of the school encourage parental involvement through yearly events, such as annual Basket Bingo, Penny Party, and holiday and spring concerts. We organize school projects for the students and local community, such as the Philabundance food drive, Red Cross Relief funds, St. Jude Research Hospital, Pennies for Patients Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, Alex s Lemonade Stand, and volunteer at our local senior center. All members of the school are active stakeholders that contribute in their very own way.

Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
I have worked at several schools in my teaching career starting in the Harrisburg area and eventually working here in the Philadelphia area. I LOVE IT. I couldn't ask for a more warm and inviting environment. I appreciate being able to have the time and resources to get into the things kinds love most and explore new worlds through the Literature, Math, Science and Social Studies! I think our program is 1st rate! I think the testament for me is the number of students who come back after they graduate and say those two words that help us know we helped them grow into the amazing people we believed them to be! "THANK YOU" is all the reward I need for the hard work. We appreciate the support of students, family, and staff to make this place the special place that it is.


Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
I'm very proud to work at CCCS. The children are a joy to work with. Our school works very hard to instill good citizenship, and it shows when kids walk in my room. Our teachers work together to communicate and create the best possible school experience we can for our students.

Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started at CCCS this year (5th Grade) and wow what a difference already! She has adjusted better and faster than I thought she would. I couldn't be happier with my decision to move her from public to charter and CCCS in particular.

Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
CCCS is an amazing school. OUr children are in 7th and 6th grades and have been in CCCS since Kindergarten. The administration, faculty and staff truly care about the well being of the students. We have never regretted our choice to send our children to this school. We wish that the school had an associated high school and will truly miss the CCCS family when our children move on.


Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
CCCS is fantastic educational institution. Their teachers are high qualified. They have various teaching styles and meet the needs of their students through differentiation. The administration is very approachable and care deeply about the children who attend there. I am proud to be a parent of a CCCS student.

Christopher Columbus CS 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I'm a proud patent of two boys at CCCS. CCCS has excellent teachers and administrative staff who care deeply about the children at the school. There are lots of different ways for parents to get involved in school activities, even for those parents who work full time outside of the home. My kids are getting an excellent education at CCCS and they are at the top of their class academically and socially. I feel blessed to have my kids enrolled in such a great school in the city of Philadelphia.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christopher Columbus CS
South Building, Philadelphia, PA  19147
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (215) 389-6000
Last modified Christopher Columbus CS is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top