Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charter High School For Architecture And Design

Charter | 9-12 | 303 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

I graduated from CHAD a year ago and I have to say that it was a fantastic experience in most aspects. The Design teachers knew exactly what they were doing and they helped me prepare for my future in more ways than one. The only reason that I can't give this school 5 stars is because CHAD accepts mainly anyone. They barely care about any interest in art and design...they just want to fill their classrooms. Of course, you do have the occasional few kids that actually want to learn more about architecture and design (such as myself). Otherwise, however, the school was pretty fantastic. I am currently enrolled in college trying to obtain my bachelor's degree in Architecture and I am very glad that CHAD helped me gain such a good amount of experience to help me get ahead of the other students in my current classes from the start. Highly recommended ONLY IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN DESIGN.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2013

CHAD is a good school for kids who are really interested in art . there are A LOT of talented artist and designers. im in 11th grade and i really enjoy going to chad. in 9th grade the teachers are pretty strict with rules and uniforms but after that they lighten up a bit.if you aren't serious about architecture or design i wouldn't recommend chad. the students are also very inviting . they accept everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2013

Chad is a great school and everyone is like family there. It show me a lots of open doors
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2012

Well I heard that this was a excellent school my daughter teacher told me about it in fact I'm on my way now to drop off the application
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

As a freshman student at CHAD I frankly dislike the way the 9th grade teachers speak to us ( the student) I dislike how we don't get to socialize with other grades and how the grades are segregated by floors. Chad focuses more on disciplining kids and those like me that are doing as told are deprived of our education. There is no diversity, therefore that means no new ideas and fresh thinking. A lot of students in my grade have already transferred or are looking into it including me. However when I talk to the upper classmen they say how they like CHAD and think it is fun. Therefore it may just be the new 9th Grade Academy on the third floor, that was just put into action this year that's failing miserably. The core subjects are a review and review over and over again of last years work there is just no challenge. Although having Charter High school for Architecture and Design looks good on a resume and college application, I think my education and learning experience is much, much more important.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2010

I when there with my son for the second part of enrollment and I thought the school was great for what I was looking for my son with learning needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I student taught at this high school in their design department; when I first came to CHAD, I was a bit disheartened by my first impression. There were renovations being made, and the classrooms were not your typical art/design classrooms. However, once I met the staff and students, I changed my mind immediately. The students are thoughtful and intelligent, and while only part of them are truly there for design, they are all there because they want to take advantage of a better education than what they would be getting elsewhere. I was impressed by the caliber of student there. In addition, the teachers at CHAD were personable and greatly cared about their students; weekly staff meetings, house meetings and department meetings assured that teachers communicated and provided the best possible atmosphere for their students. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a great education.


Posted October 20, 2009

School seeks only the best and brightest. Any child struggling to keep up will not have a good experience at CHAD. The school seems to weed out those students whether they are discipline problems or not. The Administration seems to be concerned more with their reputation than the individual student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

Fine School Great for Design and Art ( The education leans heavily on Design not Architecture) All round good school better then Most public schools in the area, but has room for improvement...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

It's an good school especially if you're thinking about going into the art, design or architecture field. They just need to learn how to be consistent with their rules and stop stressing about the small stuff..
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2007

Ecellent School..the chilkdren who go there I have observed, respond in positive manners toward each other and toward their education. This has been an outstanding school for my daughter! The staff, administration and teachers are exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I been at Chad for 2 years now and i'm going to 11th grade this year. I think it is a very good school and is great for college prep and thing of that nature!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2005

I have gone to CHAD for 2 years and it wil be a good school in the future but right now it is not as good as schools like DASH. Administration puts disipline before students needs. We have basically no extra curricular activities. Curriculem is very slow hence our poor test grades. Also dosent prepare for college even though they call classes college prep.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

This school has changed my child's life. CHAD is the best school in the world.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
13%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female38%
Male47%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female72%
Male58%
Black59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students9%
Female7%
Male11%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students76%
Female81%
Male71%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 15%
Hispanic 7% 9%
White 5% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 South 7th St
Philadelphia, PA 19106
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 351-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Constitution High School
Philadelphia, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT