Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Young Scholars CS

Charter | 6-8 | 238 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $299,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2013

Young Scholars Charter School is a very good school. They have a lot of expectations but they also give a lot of assistance. The teachers genuinely care about the students excelling. I have 3 children who graduated from Young Scholars. One graduated in 2003, one in 2004 and the last one graduated in 2012. I would recommend Young Scholars to anyone looking for a school that prepares their student for high school and college. I only have good things to say about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

My daughter is a 6 grader in this school and she loves it. It has a lot of different opportunities for the children. The teachers are great, they work with your child so they can excel above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

I am a parent of a sophomore, who use to go to your school. She attended Young Scholars for grades 6th through 8th, and i was very pleased with the school. Now i am interested in sending my son their; but i have to make sure this is the right school for him; because he has a iep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

Young Scholars Charter Schoool is a wonderful school that is filled with great teachers and a beautiful environment. Young Schoars hace reached many goals like, having outstanding scores on the PSSA`s, Great attendence, Having many children on Honor Roll, and many others that are outstanding. They teach students the fundementals and responsibilities that they will need not only as a child but as an adult too. Students graduate from tthat school with their heads held high and ready to take on the challenges that face in life.


Posted September 30, 2011

I am the proud parent of a Young Scholars Charter school student. My child is now in the eighth grade. I have not had any complaints about the school or the education she is receiving. Her test scores (pssa) show this school is on par with teaching, and reaching the students. I recommend this school to parents who are looking for a great school that will allow their child to be prepared for High school. Not only are the students well prepared for Special admission schools, but can compete and shine. Don't let the North Philly location fool you into thinking the school is not funded. This school is well funded and has exposed my child to activities she has never been given in the private school she attended prior to this school. . This is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

I am a student here at Young Scholars in the 8th grade and it is the best school I ever attended. The teachers show care for every single student and help them set goals that they WILL accomplish by the time they leave the school. YSCS prepares all students for the best possible futures and give them lots of opportunities to shine. Every class challenges you, there are lots of extra-curricular activities for kids to participate in, and the school takes more trips and gives more rewards than any other school in the city. I highly recommend this school to other kids.


Posted August 13, 2010

I am a student here at young scholars i just finshed my sixth grade year in penn6.The school is the best. My teachers actually show care and i dont think my school deserves a 4 out of ten it deserves a 15 out of ten. the school is very challenging. we do a great job without a gym, lockers or a second floor. we use our limited supplies and get through the day.


Posted June 20, 2010

Young Scholars is an excellent school. The school really challenges the students. The teachers are very helpful and caring. I would recommend this school to any parent that has a child entering the sixth or seventh grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

As a brand new graduate of the Young Scholars Charter School, and a current student at the Friends Select School, I must completely disagree with the rating in which the School District of Philadelphia has given my family. Not only have they been amazing educators, providing quality education and skills necessary to complete work of all kinds, these same people have been the crucial elements necessary to building a respectable African-American man. Serving fewer than 300 children in grades 6-8, Young Scholars Charter School is a fairly small school dedicated to the educating of Philadelphia's youth, myself included. The size of the school allowed relationships between both teachers and students that could not be foraged at typical public schools. The efforts at Young Scholars need to be recognized in a much better way than a rating of 4 out of 10, and I can say that honestly and without biases.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

I like coming here as an student and getting to know people around me. It is so nice and welly ran with no principal. I gaurentee to spend the rest of my 7th grade year and exceed into my 8th grade year. This is one of my best choices
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

this is my daughters first year at y.s.c. she loves it and so do I there are plenty of extra cirricular activities my daughter has signed up for cooking, drama, chior and voulenteer work with city year on saturdays. The academics are a little hard for her but thats what I want she was a little behind and now I see her catching up Ijust remind her that she is being prepared to attend the best high schools and go on to college. My daughter is a little shy , shes quiet, very respectful and sweet and she doesnt feel threatend like in most middle school envrionments. I think y.s.c.is the perfect place to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

This is my second child I'm trusting with Young Scholars Charter School. My daughter attended their summer school, because I didn't want her brain to take a break from absorbing information. The subjects taught were Science, Math and Language Arts. They had plenty of homework, test, and quizzes. My child received A's during her summer progress report and made plenty of new friends. I applaud all the summer teachers that helped each child do their best to get ready for a fun, accelerated, and rigorous, curriculum in sixth grade. I have no doubt that my child will attend an excellent High School, because of the skills that she learns from Young Scholars Charter School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

Young Scholars Charter School is a great academically challenging school. I have been there for 3 years, the full term there,and I love it.I came home with vocabulary words that my parents had not even heard of. My editing skills have improved and so has my algebraic skills. Since YSCS is in center city when I wanted to get a summer job all I had to do was go up the street and the interviewrs were right there. Mrs.Maureen Harris is the current Lang.Arts teacher there I coomend her on duing an excellent job with the students.There are a lot of oportunities at Young Scholars.It would be a great place for anyone to send their scholar(s).
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
41%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female77%
Male91%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female63%
Male72%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male74%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male82%
Black84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female44%
Male64%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black99%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 15%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 N. Marshall Street
Philadelphia, PA 19123
Phone: (215) 232-9727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kearny Gen Philip School
Philadelphia, PA


Laboratory CS
Philadelphia, PA


Ludlow James R School
Philadelphia, PA


Harrison William H School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT