Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Germantown Settlement Charter School

Charter | 5-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $78,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2011

I live in France, My name is Isabelle SALASC, I knew an Amy SMITH in 1982 who lived 5355 Knox street and I am looking for her I wonder if she was in your school in 1982. Can you please help me in my search.


Posted July 2, 2009

I am a parent of 2 children how attended GSCS for 2 years. Within thos 2 years there were alot of ups and downs in the school. It began with the teachers leaving, then the principal left and everything was left in shambles. The teachers at the time were running everything. I will say that the teachers that my 2 children had were veryyyy good teachers they cared about their education. Especially my son's teachers. He is a graduate of GSCS and they really made sure that he was prepared for what is to come in high school. It's sad to see that the teachers had to be put through the closing of the school because of what seemed to me to be a lack of a good administration in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

This school was fun because of all the student that was there, and some of the teachers. This school has a lot of ups and downs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

This is my child's first year at this school and I agree with the parent below. This is the WORSE school ever. The teachers let the students run the school and the adults are not respected. Since the announcement of the school closing the teachers are leaving and no substitute teachers want to come in to help the students because of their rude disrespectful behavior. I am looking now to put my child in another school soon as possible. The principle does not care also, leave messages he never returns phone calls. Next step is to Home School my child this way I know she will learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Its sad to say....this school is deplorable. The staff there is very unprofessional. Not condoning the fact that the kids are disrespectful to some staff, but I can understand why. The PSSA scores are still low and the school is allegedly closing. There is no need to hold on, they need to just close. The principal gave his welcoming announcement via monitors in each of the classrooms. It would have been nice to see him in person. Parents could have sat in the lunchroom. I don't want to take up too much space with this, but if anyone has a child that goes there, take them out soon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

When my daughter started here in Sept of 2005, it was great! Every year it has taken a turn for the worse. The majority of the school is below average and they dont have any plans for those students at or above...its sickening! I was going to send her to another school this year but someone from the school called me over the summer to tell me how much different this campus is which is bull! i cannot wait for next year so my daughter can finally be finished with GSCS (unless of course they close b4 hand!) The best thing right now is some of the teachers and the after school programs. no curriculum, no structure, no lockers and the principal is horrible! (he's only been the 3rd principal in 3 years!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

This school has had some up's and down's but this year the school has made a big improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

My child attends the Chelton Campus. The support system from the teachers and administrators are excellent. Their is just way to many children with behavior problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

My son will be attending the 8th grade in 9/07 at the Chelten Ave campus which is a disgrace. The building is dirty with little to no organization. Purchasing/selling tokens is a task GSCS has not been able to accomplish in a whole school year. I transferred my son to GSCS in the 6th grade at the Main Campus where the building was a lot better and cleaner, the students had text books to bring home and lockers. The Chelten campus is in dire need of help. I joined the PTA then dropped out, because there were no changes being done. They are supposed to be preparing these kids for high school. They are going to be shell-shocked, because GSCS isn't. No textbooks unless the teachers obtain them from the book bank and no lockers! Do not send you child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

My child attends this school and they have along way to go in terms of structure and discipline. They also lack most of the basic things that are expected to be taught at this intermediate level of schooling when children are just finding themselves and there niche in life. It also appears as if the teachers and staff are afraid of implementing certain rules and enforcing them. The rules are in place but when broken they modify instead of discipling to accommodate the rule breaker. I have very serious concerns about this and I am trying to move my child for the upcoming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Being a single parent private school is a financial struggle; I too believed that if my child went to a charter school instead of public that she would receive a stable, structure environment, I was wrong. GS structure is horrible! I offered my services and time to help wherever needed i.e., letters to parents, PTA etc. to no avail. God Bless Mrs. Turner and the other teachers who actual cared and loved their job, Miracles and Blessings to you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

My children started this school in Sept of 2005. I thoought since they where going to a charter school things would be diffeferent. Hah! think again. I can understand why this school is still up and running. With an exception for a few great teachers like Ms Talley the whole establishment is disfuctional. There is a big miscomunication between parent and students. I tried to stay envolved as much as possible.I would say about 70% of the staff are non-professional.I would get aboout a 2 day notice about trips ranging 20.00 and more, which was difficult being a single mom. After a certain point there was nothing they could tell me to surprse me about this school.Their is also a neighboring school that the kids have fightswith called pickett. My kids are out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

I am not really fond of this school. They have changed the entire staff of teachers, and the principal, and the teachers, and staff communicate through the children instead of directly to the parents. The office is not in synch with the teachers. They have individuals opinions regarding dress codes, as well as what time a child is considered late to school. In spite of these flaws, there in one incredible teacher there. The children call him Mr. C. He is very interested in educating the children and comending them on their accomplishments. My son absolutely loves Mr. C, and he is always talking about the science projects he does in class. Mr. C is absolutely a great Math and Science teacher. He has made my son love math again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
12%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
2%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
14%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
21%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
3%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4811 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19144
Phone: (215) 713-0855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fitler Academics Plus
Philadelphia, PA


Germantown Friends School
Philadelphia, PA


Steel Edward School
Philadelphia, PA


Better Way Academy
Philadelphia, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT