Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
84 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 130 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Philadelphia Academy Cs
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
Due to the lack luster leadership of administration, the teachers do the best they can.

Philadelphia Academy Cs
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
I had many students come to me crying and stressed because they did homework for 3 hours and couldn't get it all done. I noticed most of the teachers didn't talk and therefore, students may have 3 tests on the same day. There needs to be better communication between subjects teachers to ensure the work load is not too much.


Philadelphia Academy Cs
Develops grit: Agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
This school has had to overcome a lot in the past few years and I definitely see them instilling those qualities in their students. They definitely don't let most of their students give up or quit.

Philadelphia Academy Cs
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
The students can be extremely disrespectful to the teachers and little to nothing is done as a repercussion.

Philadelphia Academy Cs
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
I don't think this is a main concern of the school but I know that if there is a bullying situation you will be talked to by the disciplinary. However, not much more action than that will be taken.


Philadelphia Academy Cs
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
The students are treated based upon their parents involvement. If you are a student who has an involved parent you will get more help and support from the administration and teachers. If you are a student who has an inactive parent, you will get pushed to the side and forgotten about by administration and some teachers. To your face, they may treat the students nicely but behind closed doors they will bad mouth any student they don't like.

Philadelphia Academy Cs 2

Posted April 29, 2016
- a teacher
I was at this school for one year as a teacher and enjoyed the kids I worked with. However, the administration is another story. I have never met such rude, uneducated, full of attitude people in their position before. The CEO of this school is beyond rude to her employees and past employees. Multiple times since leaving the school I have had to contact them for information and every time I do it is an extremely rude, short, disrespectful email. The administrative team is comprised of all females who judge the people under them and if you are not a brown-noser or a "yes, whatever you say" staff member you will not last. I truly enjoyed my co-workers but they do nothing but gossip and talk about each other which is very disheartening. All the staff/teachers at the school are extremely nice and helpful but you cannot trust most of them. The education and curriculum of the school is sub-par. The teachers do the best they can but they get little support from the administrators. Most times, decisions that are made are not in the best interest of the students. If you are looking for a school with a nurturing, inviting, well-rounded, student-centered atmosphere, this is not the place. I truly believe that years back the school was a good school but through bad governing and poor decisions and leaders, the school is crumbling. They boast about their special education programs but those are a joke and I would never recommend sending your child to this school if they have any need whether it is with reading, math, or self-contained needs. The teachers there do the best they can but with the high level of nepotism in that school, there is only so much they can do.

Philadelphia Academy Cs 3

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
The grade school is great the HS still continues to lag behind in test scores. CEO is leaving in June hoping for HS improvements after that.


Philadelphia Academy Cs 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I think it is a great school. I didn't have chance to send my child to this school but keep playing a lottery. I hope one day my child will go this school!

Philadelphia Academy Cs 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a community member
The Philadelphia Academy Charter School is a great learning experience for all children from grades K-12. With the latest technology, the Philadelphia Academy Charter School gives on hand learning for all students. The atmosphere is wonderful, and everyone gets along with each other. The Administration dedicate their time to make the Philadelphia Academy Charter School how it is today.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Philadelphia Academy Cs
11000 Roosevelt Blvd, Philadelphia, PA  19116
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 130 reviews. (215) 676-8320
Last modified Philadelphia Academy Cs is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top