Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Towne Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 933 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

143 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2012

My son is a freshman at FTCHS and he loves the school. He is thriving academically and getting involved in extra curricular activities as well. The teachers and entire staff are awesome at FTCHS, they are caring individuals who want to help your child recognize and achieve their own potential. The school has a set of strict guidelines in place that serve to keep the students safe and focused on learning. It has only been a few months and already we feel like part of a big family, my son is not getting lost in an overgrown highschool setting with unfamiliar faces and less than attentive teachers. I am very impressed with FTCHS so far and we are looking forward to the next 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

Please don't listen to the negative reveiws , My Child graduated from FTC in June 2011, The school is wonderful , teachers , staff and student body. FTC is a family , plain and simple. I have found those who complain about the school are the parents who have a child that was in trouble. I was so impressed by FTC , I pulled my other child from Catholic school and he attends the grade school. My child who graduated from FTC struggled through 8 years of Catholic grade school to keep her head above water grade wise , she made 1st honors all for years at FTC, They are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

My daughter is a junior in this school. The school is awesome and the teachers are helpful and very intelligent. The only compaint I have is with the Disciplinarian. He was the basketball coach last year and this year he is the Dean of Students. I think he's in way over his head in that position and is not really qualified to do it. He should go back to B-ball....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

My son is a Junior and he is doing great. He is in the NHS and is a Mentor. I'm so happy that he was accepted in Franklin Towne. He's been an A student since Freshman year and . The teachers are great and the old staff and NEW staff are wonderful. No complaints from this parent.. Keep up the good work Frankline Towne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

My son is a freshman and he absolutely loves it at FTCHS. I have seen such a change in him in the short time he has been there. He comes home excited about the day.The school has lots of rules and the kids seem to follow them. But they balance their strictness with fun activities for the kids and they eve have an incentive program. I am so happy my son was accepted to FCHS and look forward to the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

My daughter is graduate June 2011 and i highly recommend this school because they are safe and no tolerence and my youngest daughter will be attending Sept 2011
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

franklintowne is one of the best school anyone can go to its safe its clean its no tolerence and the teachers are very helpfull.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2011

The teachers are very good at this school. The administration has my concern. The administration should follow their on guidlines, "child find" to keep children in school rather than suspend/expel as if second nature. Handbook of rules for the teens but they are not followed by the administration. Rules are great, but if not followed by EVERYONE they are useless. Can not dictate that only the teens have to follow the codes. Accountability is for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I love Franklintowne, my daughter is doing great, the teachers are so helpful, everything in this school is in place to help a child succeed. I am praying my son gets accepted for this year as a freshman. A safe school, with teachers who care, and rules that work. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

My son graduated from FTCH in 2009 & my daughter is going to be a graduated from FTCH in 2012. FTCH is a blessing, the teachers go above and beyond to make the children feel safe, trusted and and above all else worthy of a GREAT education. I would never and could never ask for anything more then the wonderful experience my children have had at FTCH. My daughter said it best herself just the other day...."Mom, when I have children some day their going to Franklin Towne Charter!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

This school is nothing short of amazing. Our Son is a Sophomore and he loves going to school. He is learning, he makes friends and the teachers are nothing short of amazing. The administration is doing a fantastic job! Keep it up. DO NOT listen to negative posts here., They are most likely written by the same person.... so it seems. It was most likely a student who did not follow rules and get in trouble and has an axe to grind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

My son is a senior and I feel that the school has declined over the 4 year period he has been there. Dramatically in the past 2. Communication to parents is almost non existent! I am glad that he is graduating this year. I don't think we could take another year of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

All of the positive reviews are written by parents of freshmen. For those of us that have been here and no what is missing, united, we are sad. Were is the pride that Franklin Towne once held?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I have a son who is now a junior in Fraklin Towne, my 3 older children also attened and i could not have asked for a better school for my children,i can not wait for my youngest child to attend. They offer the best of everything for your child to enjoy the best experience of any school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

All of the positive reviews are coming from the parents of freshmen. For those of us that have had children at Franklin Towne for more than 8 months, we know where the school was and were it is now. Franklin Towne has lost its heart. We need our pride back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My son is a Freshmen at Franklin Towne this year. It has been a very good experience. I think the teachers and administrators have been doing a wonderful job. I could not be happier with FTCHS. It was a great choice. My son like school and adjusted well to the new school. Thank you to everyone at FTCHS for making this school great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

I am very disappointed wth recent events at Franklin Towne. The school has lost its focus. This would not have happened two years ago. Then the focus was on the kids. Now it is on the adults. We need Mr. Field back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

I am sad to say, that I too have seen a decline this past year. My son is a senior and we are happy and proud that he will be graduating from Franklin Towne. But, my son and I both feel like the school has lost its focus during this past year. In the past we used to hear such wonderful stories when he would come home, but now all we hear are stories about the kids not wanting to be there anymore. He told me that someone recently got in trouble for starting a facebook page about how much he hates the school and that half of the seniors joined the page as friends. Why would half the class hate thier school? Something has changed, it did not used to be like this?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

To the parent below, since you have just transfered in, I am sure that Franklin Towne is great. But for those of us that have been with this school for the past three years, I agree with the parent below that, that the school has most certainly lost a step (as far as the adminstration). The teachers are the greatest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

In reguards to the parent who is bashing the new administration. My daughter transfered into FTC this year from a public school. It is the best move I could have done for me and her. Her grades went from just about passing to straight A's. As far as the principals of the school I commend them for being them selves and not just another stuffed suit.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female22%
Male40%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 12% 9%
Black 7% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 60%N/A49%
Male 40%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 Tacony St Building 108
Philadelphia, PA 19137
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 289-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA




Frankford High School
Philadelphia, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT