Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Towne Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 686 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

140 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2009

Franklin Towne Charter High School is an excellence high school. My children goes there. I have 2 sons that have graduated and attend college, and I have 2 children still attending , 1 is a junior and the other one is a freshman. They are strict, but I love it. The teachers take their time to help students who are having difficulties. They teach their students to take responsibility for themselves. My daughter attended college this past summer,when she was only a sophomore. They have a web page that you can check up on your child's progress, so if you want to know what is going on, check there. They have sports and other activities for student .The staff is very respectful, they greet everyone and the school 's environment is very safe inside and out. They have security guards everywhere and cameras. When, my kids were in middle school, they didn't learn anything at all , but fighting and when they attended Franklin towne, their behavior and personality changed. They were so happy and only focused on school. I have never seen my children love school so much. Franklin Towne has change my children life. I am so grateful for Franklin Towne. They have taught my kids to be the best they can be. Thank you very much; It is the best school around..plus teacher and parent work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love Franklin towne because they make education first. the kids know what they have to do to pass. I like that they are Strick just like Private schools, dont tolerate fights. please pick franklin towne its the best school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love Frankin Towne because feel my children get the best education. They are doing far better than I could ever hope for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love Franklin Towne because they really care about their students. They take the time and attention to help them be the best adults they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

before my daughter came to this school she hated school and had very poor grades. Never in a million years would I think that I would hear my daughter say that she likes school now, is getting A's & B's and wants to go to college. Franklin Towne Charter is my HERO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

My school deserves to be America's favorite school because our faculty and staff truelly believes and acts on prosperous, college-bound views for each and every one of us. Their enthusiasm and drive makes students want to come to school and learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

Franklintowne is better in education wise,my children love the school and the teachers r there to help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

It has so many great activities and events such as carnival day, trips to hershey park and even across the world!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

Ftch is a safe, good school with lots of oppertunits
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love this school because the teachers and staff really care about my children. They are taught many of things many other schools don't teach. I am speaking about how to be prepared for LIFE.Not only is a safe place to be but the kids really like going to school for all the right reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

FTCHS is a school that has teachers that teach until the children learn. They don't give up. I have come from the Catholic school system where that was not the case. If you child had a problem it was just that, your child's problem. I thank God FTCHS is there for my children to be well educated by the Best Teachers I have come across. They have the education behind them to teach each child they way each child can learn. The staff can and will answer any question you have no matter how silly it may sound. The rules the school has are excellent. They help teach the children what the real world is like and rules are an every day event of that world and they need to be followed as a part of everyday life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

i love this school because not only is its safe, but the whole school really does work to make us students the best we possibly can be. ohh yeahh and the girls soccer team is pretty boss =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love this school because the teachers are always willing to help and is a friendly environment. The teachers and staff really care and help to prepare you for college and a career. Its also a very safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

i love franklin towne charter high school because we are like a big family! My school does everything in its power to help everyone in our FTC community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

I love this school because it is a safe environment and its just great in general. This school is so much ore helpful then any other i know. They help prepare us for college and also show us a great time with funn incentives for are hard work. The teachers and staff are all very friendly helping us with whatever we need.They prepare us for life and careers. There full of school spirit and love to try new things and its like your one big family away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Because its a safe and very clean environment for my kids to learn, the teachers care about the kids grades and the communication with the parents is great too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I love franklin towne charter highschool because the teachers help me succeed in everything I do. they are strict which helps keep everyone in line but franklin towne also knows how to have fun. I love franklin towne and its the best school around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

It has a good education for students and the teachers are nice. The rules are just right as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

I have been in franklin towne for the past four years and I can say it has a very dedicated staff who will work with the student in order to help them recieve the best education. being at franklin towne has helped me prepaire for college as well as life outside of high school. if it were not for franklin towne I would not have the friends I have now or the knowlede and experience I will carry with me throughout my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

FTC has the greatest teachers and employees that show in the ranking of their school and the success of their students. The students are given every opportunity in their educational learning and with life issues on how to face and deal with them successfully. They want you to use what you have,add to that and be proud of what you can do and mostly of who you are .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female22%
Male40%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 12% 9%
Black 7% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 60%N/A49%
Male 40%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Tagalog
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 Tacony St Building 108
Philadelphia, PA 19137
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 289-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA




Frankford High School
Philadelphia, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT