Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Towne Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 686 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

140 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2009

This is a really great school. I'm in my senior year. I learn something new everyday. The teachers help you when you need it. I'm glad I chose to go to Franklin Towne.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

My son just started this year and was very scared going to a new school he loves going to school every day, the techers made the classes fun and he really was happy every day all the kids in the school are respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My school has such a warm, family atmosphere whenever you walk in the doors. I'm in my junior year and I can't imagine how much I'm going to miss the school when I leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

All of the teachers are great. The whole staff is willing to help you with everything and anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

It's a safe school and both of my children get a great education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I think the teachers and faculty care about the students. The put the students first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

All the teachers are amazing, it's safe, fun, and you learn a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

The school is strict but it's good for the students to help them prepare for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

We're a big family here at Franklin Towne, and you won't find that in any other high school around us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

The teachers and staff know all of the students by name. The principals of both the grade and high school greet the students each morning when they enter the school. Each student feels their education and safety is important the the entire staff of the school. I have 4 sons who went to three different high schools and my youngest is a Franklintowne student so I have experience with the city high schools and Franklintowne is by far the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Franklin Towne is a great school. My children are really growinig there. The teachers, faculty and administration are all wonderful and really care about the kids. They are always striving to become the best school they can possibly be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Franklintowne Charter High School of Philadelphia gives children a chance at a quality education in an inner city setting without tuition.


Posted October 31, 2009

I love everything about Franklin Towne..Would not go to another school..They are always there for the kids. We come first..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Franklintowne is the BEST school, EVER! Both of my children go and LOVE it!Very friendly atmosphere, encourages learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

This school is a great place for students to learn and be supported by everyone in the building. It's a haven in Philadelphia where students can go to school and learn a lot of information to be well-prepared for college. All of my students are excellent citizens, and are very respectful of myself and their classmates. These are only some of the reasons why our school is the best in the US!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 31, 2009

It is a great school....the education and safety that this school offers are 2 of the most important things that any parent could ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Franklin Towne Charter is a faboulous institution in regards to safety, education, community, student involvement, and place of employment. Everyone in this school truly cares and gives it their all; everyone meaning the students, faculty, admin staff, office staff, business office, facilities, technology staff, guidance, etc. It's a complete organization and the epitome of success and hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

My grandsons are getting an excellent education and learning things that will help them in their choice of careers


Posted October 31, 2009

My son is receiving a fabulous education. The teachers are the best. The administration is outstanding. The students are respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Franklin Towne is the most wonderful experience my daughter has ever had. She is freshman and is receiving the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female22%
Male40%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 12% 9%
Black 7% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 60%N/A49%
Male 40%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Tagalog
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 Tacony St Building 108
Philadelphia, PA 19137
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 289-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA




Frankford High School
Philadelphia, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT