Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Towne Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 686 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

143 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2009

My grandsons are getting an excellent education and learning things that will help them in their choice of careers


Posted October 31, 2009

My son is receiving a fabulous education. The teachers are the best. The administration is outstanding. The students are respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Franklin Towne is the most wonderful experience my daughter has ever had. She is freshman and is receiving the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I love this school I am now a junior and going to this school it has been the greatest aspect of my adolescent life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

ive been at franklin towne for two years and i love it. it is a big school with not that many students so you get the attention you need and upon getting accepted you take a test to put you in classes on the same level as you. love franklin towne.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

This school is amazing and the teachers are awesome. Everyone should go there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

Franklin Towne is great! I am amazed at how well this school runs. It is like getting a suburban-level education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

I do not have the words to express my joy with the staff of Franklin Towne. The CEO, Mr. Venditti, and the Principal, Mr. Field are two of the kindest, most caring people (not just administrators) that I have ever met. Students graduating from Franklin Towne will be prepared for thier future becuase of the work and expecations that they are given today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

wow what to say about franklin towne i graduated in 2008 and i cry every time i watch my prom video! i loved that school so much...ftc staff are great unlike my freshmen year where the old staff didnt care! i miss all the teachers! i didnt care how strict they were i loved it their and would never trade it in! my class scored in 2nd place for the pssa in 2008 i love you ftc


Posted January 6, 2009

I am an alumni of this school, and it has definitely prepared me for college. I have done extremely well in college, and now, I am a senior at Holy Family and am applying to graduate school. When I graduated in 2005, there were not as many after-school activities as there are now, but it was great. FT was like a community. The AP classes were difficult, and the teachers were amazing!! I would recommend this school to anyone who would like to learn!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

I am a FTC alumnus. I graduated in '08 Not only did the school teach me how to be a good student in the classroom it taught me how to be a better person outside of the classroom. I went off to college and i became honor student.


Posted November 20, 2008

This school is so academically horrible. I graduated with mostly A's and some B's, and now I'm in my 5th semester of university. Back in high school I studied literally 2 hours per week, and did the assigned homework. All of a sudden, I jumped into the deep end of the pool barely knowing the doggy paddle. My first two semesters were terrible. I could barely pull good grades. I had 4 Bs, 5 Cs, and 3 Ds. This is now with 20 hours of studying. Franklin Towne is too easy for any college bound person. It wasn't until my sophmore year that I began pulling good grades. I had nothing below a B- and two A's. If it weren't for my incredibly awesome profs, I would have failed out by the end of my freshman year. Franklin Towne is however definitely a better alternative than Frankford.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2008

I like the school, the teachers are very nice. Yet, the work they give us sometimes i alittle to much
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

I'm going into my sophomore year at FTC.... my freshmen years was a blast!!! The staff at FTC is super!!! This school is so amazing.... I'm really glad I got in.... I can't see myself going to any other school..... Sure the school has many rules, but what would a great school be without them?? FTC rocks!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

This is the first time I put the kids in a charter school. I have always paid Catholic School tuition with hopes of a good education and environment. Franklin Towne Charter offers all this! My son graduates this years after all 4 years of attending and I could never be more pleased. Two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

I am a sophomore at FranklinTowne and i cannot imagine leaving. I have stuck with this school since freshman year, Yes, they are strict with tucking in your shirts, and stuff like that, but you have to understand it is for the safety of our students. The principal, Mr. Fields, is a wonderful, interactive principal. He likes to listen to students opinions in making the school better. I am so happy i found a great high school to graduate from [hopefully] and will miss it when i leave. Our school also has great extracurricular activities, including chess, student council, math club, science club, history club, and much more. I am apart of Student Council, and i love helping out my school when in need. The classes i take are not hard at all, and the teachers are great as in the way they help develop your academic knowledge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

As a parent of a freshman, I am very pleased with this school....To everyone involved in helping make a brighter future for our kids, keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

I couldnt of been more fortunate for my son to attend this school he is in Special Ed and this is the only I mean only school where my son has made progress his whole attitude has changed for the better more confident,grades improved teachers are on top of iep's they follow goal progress icant tell you in the public schools i never saw one of those my son never would of gotten this far had it not been for franklin towne again i have tons of gratitude for this school it was truly a blessing! mrs.Irizarry
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

The academic programs at Franklin Towne are average. They have since removed many of the the non academic courses such as carpentry. Many students strived on those courses to up their motivation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 5, 2005

Well I was looking at this site and I thought a student perspective would be great I'm a sophmore at the school. Quality of academic programs: our programs arent the best I admit but they are pretty good I would give it 6 out of 10 Extracurriculum: we have plenty of extracurricullum such as art, music, sports,etc.... I'd give it a 6 out of 10 Level of parent involvement: This is the only thing im upset about their is very little parent involvement. parent involvement I give a 2 out of 10.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female22%
Male40%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 12% 9%
Black 7% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 60%N/A49%
Male 40%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Tagalog
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 Tacony St Building 108
Philadelphia, PA 19137
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 289-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maritime Academy Cs
Philadelphia, PA




Frankford High School
Philadelphia, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT