Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

460 students|Green Woods Cs
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Green Woods CS
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
Thanks to the other parents that do not just sit back and let the school dictate policies without being fair.

Green Woods CS
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
The teachers have the potential to be effective however the lack of support interferes with what could be a great situation of learning.


Green Woods CS
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
The amount of homework is not an issue. Homework is just to enhance the skill.

Green Woods CS
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
The school has the potential to do so however it needs to get rid of the current administration. They are not compassionate, unfair and talk to both children and parents as if they do not matter.

Green Woods CS
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
Lack of respect is shown as the voice of children gets drowned out by the adults.


Green Woods CS
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
How could you show compassion, care and empathy when the students are not given an opportunity to explain what is going on. It is whatever the teacher says.

Green Woods CS
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
Unfortunately, the school officials (Dean of Students and Dean of students and faculty) could care less about what is going on with the students. They are one sided and do not get a full view of what is going on,.

Green Woods CS 1

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
I have really tried to work with this school. I did not read the other comments prior to sending my children there. Needless to say, the comments are TRUE. The staff is VERY disrespectful and lack professionalism.


Green Woods CS 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
As the parent of a gifted student, Greenwoods has done everything I had intended for my child. He was really curious, like most young children, always asking a ton of questions. My husband supported that by always saying ask good questions. At Greenwoods, he learned how to continue to ask questions but the questions just got better. Maybe a child like mine would have performed well anywhere, but I don't think so. It takes great teachers to create a healthy container within which children can develop and grow. We have experienced teachers like that all the way through his education. I'm grateful that all of the research that I did when my child was three, and we didn't want to have to leave Philadelphia for the suburbs, paid off. It was the lottery we needed to win. My only wish is that every child in Philadelphia could go to a public school this good and have parents who care about them and their education. The only way for Greenwoods to improve is to open 30 other schools just like it. I saw the story about the bullying and I know about it. That was then, this is now. Zero tolerance for bullying is in place and it is part of the curriculum. That and conflict resolution.

Green Woods CS 1

Posted March 12, 2014
- a community member
I WAS a student at Green Woods. WAS is the key word. The school lacked help on childerns feelings and how they were unhappy with their social envorment. Teachers and staff did NOTHING to help the bullying conflicts that went on. Day after day I saw one of my friends getting verbally abused or I got verbally abused and when I drew attention to it, the school swept it under the carpet like it was nothing. And some of the middle school teachers had attitude. They favored some kids over others (the "special needs" children over the "normal" children). They let kids these "special" kids interupt the learing enviorment, but when someone else interupted it they got punished for it. The bullying thing is what got me the most. I hated the fact that I had to go to school in fear everyday and cried myself to sleep every night because of what people said to me and my friends every day. There were only a select few of staff members who actually cared about the childrens well being. I HATED THE SCHOOL AND THE MOST OF THE STUDENTS! -an EX-student

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Woods CS
119 Rector Street (moving to 468 Domino Lane), Philadelphia, PA  19128
(215) 482-6337
Last modified Green Woods CS is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Green Woods CS Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. Top