Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8 & Ungraded|Public charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Discovery Charter School 5

Posted January 10, 2016
- a student
This school is great. They have many traveling trips and great homework, the teachers really work with the parents and kids.

Discovery Charter School 5

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
I currently have two students in DCS. My oldest is in the 8th grade she's and has been hers since kindergarten. I've never felt more impressed by how much she have learned. They have prepared her to go on into high school with all the tools and beyond. My youngest is a 4th grader who at one point had some issues with directions but always got back on track with the guidance of great teacher and the hands-on help. Now she's a phenomenal student and star athlete. Kudos to the best school in West Philly


Discovery Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms Kelley. Without her vision the children of DCS wouldn't have the in school family nor would they have the opportunity of a life time to travel the world.. Rest In Paradise Ms. Kelley

Discovery Charter School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
I love the staff at dcs.. The principal is there late she is very involved. The school is a big family as a parent I'm secure leaving my child there. My child had learned so much there. She has really advanced.. They teach the kids thru the way of discovering . Hands on and it helps them pick up things so much faster... Great school great choice.

Discovery Charter School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a community member
Discovery is a school where teachers come in early and stay late. It's a home away from home for both faculty and students. DCS offers its students experiences that few other public schools in the city offer. Travel is integrated into the curriculum and students are expected to be well read, well spoken, and well informed members of the global community. I am impressed with DCS.


Discovery Charter School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a community member
I am a "2012" graduate of discovery charter school . I was with DCS from the very beginning in 2003 In 9 years of being there it made me a better student and young lady . They devote there lives to teach us to make sure that we succeed . I was a type of student that got in trouble all time but by the time I made it to middle school I got my act together I did spelling bees , student leader , choir , track , and basketball . I become a leader to other because of DCS we explored the world through learning. when it was time for me to graduate I didn't want to go because of the bond I grew with my teacher even today with me being a freshman in high school I still visit DCS. And my teacher that brought were I am today my mom Couldn't have picked a better school for me to grow , learn , archive , and succeed t

Discovery Charter School 5

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
I've been an active parent of a student at DCS for 7years, also a part of the Home and School Assoc. Words cannot express the appreciation for the education and experience DCS has/is providing for my child. I am presently preparing another child for possible enrollment. Couldn't see my children anywhere else under anyone else's care! DCS Rocks!!!

Discovery Charter School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a teacher
DCS is a great community school with certified teachers who are up to date in the best teaching methods. The special education and student support staff is growing quantitatively and qualitatively. There is a general family style effort to help students succeed. 8th grader travel to Spain, 5th grade to Canada, 4th grade to Washington, DC and 3rd grade to NYC with more trips planned!


Discovery Charter School 4

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
This is my daughter's 4th year at DCS, and she is flourishing! The teachers are easy to get a hold of and keep me abreast with my daughter's education. The entire staff gives the school a "family" feel.

Discovery Charter School 4

Posted November 28, 2010
- a teacher
I'm pleased with the overall culture of this school. Our assistant principal is always around and is extremely helpful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery Charter School
5070 Parkside Ave, Philadelphia, PA  19131
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (215) 879-8182
Last modified Discovery Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top