Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maritime Academy Cs
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
There are a number of students who graduate without actually passing classes. The administration has pushed for students to get pushed by. This does not foster persistence, grit, and determination.

Maritime Academy Cs
Develops respect: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
The dean and principal generally apply discipline in a way that helps foster respect for teachers in the school.


Maritime Academy Cs
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Again, some teachers and staff go above and beyond the bare essentials of their job. This can create true development of character in some students.

Maritime Academy Cs
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Most of the teachers put effort into their work and try to develop real character. But, since there is little accountability, it is easy for teacher to do pretty much whatever they want in the class if they chose.

Maritime Academy Cs 2

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Maritime is lucky to have caring and dedicated teaching staff, because the administration at this school is a mess. The CEO is a self-focused, untruthful man who will intimidate anyone who does not quietly follow his orders. It is a shame that those in leadership are not more concerned about the children who attend their school. If they were they would treat their teachers better and give them more support.


Maritime Academy Cs 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
I have gone to MACHS for 4 years since 5th grade and it was the best time of my life. The teachers are incredible, all of the students are very friendly, and the academics are fantastic. I gained a family here at MACHS and they are my best friends and without them I wouldn't of known what to do. MACHS is the best middle school ever. Though the uniform policy is a little strict, you will get used to it I promise. My 4 years at MACHS were the best days of my life and I truly thank Mr. Saunders, Mr. Poznek, Ms. McGonigle, Mr. Bray, Ms. Foster, Mr. Smith, Ms. Fanega, and Ms. Yeiter. I have completed my 8th grade year because of these wonderful teachers who supported me and challenged me to unlock my full potential socially and academically. I highly recommend that you apply your child to Maritime Academy Charter School (the middle school. I know nothing about the high school) I guarantee your child will feel like they are in a safe haven when they come to Maritime. Goodbye.

Maritime Academy Cs 2

Posted September 05, 2015
- a student
This school is so bad literally all they care about is your uniform rather than your education. Half of the kids that go there are super rude too. I've been in this school since 5th grade and I just hated it. The only thing I liked about this school were some of the teachers because they made learning fun (Mr. Doyle) other than that I just didn't like this school.

Maritime Academy Cs 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
This is a good school. My kids go to the and there are all doing so well.


Maritime Academy Cs 5

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
My son has received honors since he started in 7th grade. Most schools that are trying to teach your child the importance of coming to school prepared wearing the required uniform will send your child home if the parent cannot follow the rules but it effects your child's learning and how the function in the real world. The school is a good school it shouldn't receive bad ratings because one parent cannot get the uniform requirements together.

Maritime Academy Cs 2

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
When my kids first started here at the middle school everything was great no problems i would recommend the middle school, but the high school is the worst they care more about the uniforms then they do making sure your child understands the classwork, your child will be sent home for not have the right pants there are so many different pairs of black pants out and most school wear the same one's my child was sent home a few times , even though i told them i couldnt find the pants because of it being the end of the school year, but thats not all there's always fights going on between the girls and the deen of the high school waits til the last min to do anything then threatens the kids and the parents with being kicked out , they had a lunch lady fill in for a teacher that was out. The high School only focus is on uniforms and not education, if your child fails a class its $250 per class which is way to much money, I just really think they should take more time out to help the children understand the work instead of failing them for something they knew nothing about and how can a teacher get mad when the students asks for help????? High School..NOOOO!!!!, Midddle School Yes

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maritime Academy Cs
2275 Bridge St, Philadelphia, PA  19137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (215) 535-4555
Last modified Maritime Academy Cs is a Charter school that serves grades 4-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top