Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Philadelphia Military Academy At Leeds

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Why is Patricia R. Still working? As a principal she is horrible along with her senior staff. The school went down hill since she became principal. The school district really should take better precautions in selecting a lead for every school for PMA this was a horrible choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

PMA is family to me. it really is a shame the school district disregarded the facts. That area is around Elverson is dangerous. I may be a senior but i am scared for the students under me. I hold the school district responsible for their decision and must say they made a mistake. But we will make the best of this. Our staff and administration has done nothing but support us and push us to greatness. As we prepare for our formal inspection on April 19, 2013, we are shooting for a gold star once again. But with as much sorrow and disappointment in my heart we will get through this. I speck on behalf of the school when i say we did our best but it was not good enough. The community will miss us and hopefully the school district and the SCR understand that they messed up. We are the best school in the city of Philadelphia.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2013

This school has done a tremendous job of being above average. THe leadership came in and made changes that the statistics support. The program is great, the school is in a safe and comfortable environment. I strongly recommend this school in place of the Masterman's and Central's to whom this school competes with academically. By far one of the best schools in the city of Philadelphia public school system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

This school is pretentious. If you are applying to a school because you want a high school experience ,a good classroom environment, and active teachers, don't apply here. Only apply as a safety net school. This school is devastating. The students are melodramatic, the teachers are mostly passive in teaching lessons and the quality of the building is a disgrace to the military. But, it's public school so aim higher if you're applying to high schools. I seriously hope this helps.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

what can I say, great school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

As a parent of a female student, there has been a great change in my child for the better. She complains that this school is hard however I constantly see her wanting to do her best. She is sure of herself and finding her way. I love this school. I wish it was around when I went to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

One of the best schools in Philadelphia. The principal and staff hold high expectations, and the kids are challenged to fulfill them on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2008

I taught as a substitute at this school. It truly was an honor and a pleasure. Almost as soon as I got there the principal came into my room to introduce himself to me and offer any assistance I might need. The students were well behaved and very respectful (which is a rare thing these days). As a substitute at this school the amount of pride that radiates throughout the building is amazing. I hope I will have the opportunity to come back to this school again soon.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
14%

2009

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female54%
Male54%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female50%
Male56%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students3%
Female8%
Male0%
Black3%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female88%
Male66%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 15%
Hispanic 10% 9%
White 3% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 East Mt. Pleasant Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19150
Phone: (215) 248-6602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Media Technology Cs
Philadelphia, PA


Parkway Northwest
Philadelphia, PA



Hope Cs
Philadelphia, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT