Advertisement
Advertisement

Better Way Academy

Private | PK-1, 3, 5-12 | 47 students

 
 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2011

This school is truly a blessing! Not only was I able to forge lasting friendships, but the staff helped me to connect with Christ. Whenever I needed advice or just someone to listen to my problems, someone was always there for me. I pushed and encouraged to my best in everything that I did, because I represented God, which made me a child of he King. I really loved how when a student came from a public school and they weren't on grade level, the teachers never made fun, but inspired and encouraged not only the child but the parents to do all they could to bring that child up to par. If parents are looking for teachers with the proper education, years of experience, and most importantly the love of God, then this is the school for you! God Bless and continue to let the Lord use you!


Posted September 27, 2009

the teachers are wonderful and I appriciate their committment to the students... but it is true that you are not learning on your level and when you leave there to go to college or to another school, you get hit with the reality that you should have learned more, and it really hurts you. I love the memories that i had there, because I was a student there, but I think the school needs to get better... that is why I rated it 3 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2009

i love how the school allows my children to have one on one learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school is okay. I commend the teachers for a great job. But it hurts your education because you are not learning your level


Posted February 24, 2009

This school is wonderful. My daughter entered the school reading below average. In the public school system their answer was to put her in a all day learning disable class. But I new my daughter just learn different than most kid. Ever since my daughter has been attending this school she has come up several reading levels. She is doing wonderful academically and spiritually. Thank God for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

The school is exceptional. My son Jerry is a former student of Betterway. He attended from grade 5-9. Because of Ms. Johnson's dedication, patience, sterness and LOVE. Jerry was able toreach his fullest potential in developing his character and getting a sound education. Jerry was accepted in one of the top Academic/Music schools in Philadlephia, (GAMP) from the education he received at Betterway Academy. Jerry and I will always be indebted to Ms. Johnson and Ms. Jackson. submitted by Angela Malson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

This school is excellent. The staff is truly dedicated and they uphold excellence in the classroom. But they focus just as heavily on character and becoming excellent citizens. The students really enjoy it. I'd send my child there!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2008

This school is great they will help u with anything school related or personal it just like one biggg shappy family i would knoe i've known the owners for about 5 or more year
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

great school, with teachers who provide personal attention to their students. Easy to evluate student progress through their own laptop. teacher communication reporting student progress and other concerns. i really recommend parents to visit the school. The students will feel at home away from home. They not only teach students academically, but emphazises on the moral and the way of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

This school is outstanding. My 6 year old had been reading a little bit, but he started attending this school and became an excellent reader in just 2 weeks. The teachers are highly educated, skilled and dedicated to their mission. The small class size allows a lot of time for individualized help. The school has just added swimming and my kids love it. The academic rigor, discipline, morals, values and love they receive at 'Better Way' are the next best thing to homeschooling a child. God bless you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 16%
Hispanic 9% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 74%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Ms Karen Jackson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (267) 336-7532

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Located in a private home
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $3000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4727 North Broad st.
Philadelphia, PA 19152
Website: Click here
Phone: (267) 336-7529

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cooke Jay Middle School
Philadelphia, PA


Broad Street Academy
Philadelphia, PA


Logan Hope School
Philadelphia, PA




Logan James School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT