Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mastery Cs - Thomas Campus

Charter | 7-12 | 603 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Philadelphia

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2012

I am very please and how mastery charater the thompson campus help my son. His reading and math improve so much and he just started in September of 2012.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My son attends Mastery Thomas Campus. I happened upon this school because I was deeply disappointed in the Catholic school that my son was attending. He is extremely bright, but he had lost his spark and desire to learn. He hated going to school. Mastery expects the student to "buy" into the program. That is a requirement if you are going to succeed there. In addition it is college prep- which I support totally. The only change I would request is that foreign language be offered from the beginning. Our children need other languages if they are expected to compete in the world. The teachers are awesome and problems are addressed immediately. Students are held accountable-as well as parents. The bottom line is that we have to invest in our children and in our schools. Mastery does that. I highly recommend this school. Tutoring, office hours, extra credit, mentoring are all a part of the success of this school. Also zero tolerance for bullying, negativaty and violent or disrepectful behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

my oldest child attends this school and she is doing great. For a child who was always behind in reading she is always in a book. Her grades are always in the 90's and all she talks about is going to college. She is now in the eleventh grade and has had perfect attendance and never late since kindergarten. I like the demerit system because it keeps them in check and makes them more responsible. You can call and talk to the teachers and the Deans, they will take care and handle any problems. I also went and sat in my childs class and participated in class and when I walked in the principal was in there also. So he is involved with the students and not just sitting in his office giving orders. There is really nothing bad that I can say about this school and am looking forward to sending my 6th grader their next year. You have to be a parent first before you just try to degrade a school. It starts at home for every child and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

this school was too easy for me and needs more diversity. although strictness is good sometimes can be bad. Surely this school does not beat out Girls High or Central.. but staff are very nice and supportive. I am an IB student now and i believe mastery should consider the IB program to make it more challenging so students can succeed in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2011

i go to thomas campus in south philly and i love it cuz the teachers r sooooo awsome and funny especially the literature and reading teachers of 7th grade !!!!!!!!!! every body there cares for each other and i never felt so at home anywhere else
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2010

My daughter attends Mastery Charter -Thomas Campus. She is a distinguished honors student, but she was not when she first started. I believe the saturday classes and the extra hours after the normal school hours has helped her tremendously. Thanks to Mastery and there wonderful teachers (who are of different races) colleges are requesting to meet with my child and she was only in the 9th grade. It takes more than the school working with the child, we as parents have to do our part as well. If your child has discipline issues then its your job as the parent to address those issues, not the school. I send my child to school to be taught not wait for the teacher to correct another childs behavior. Mastery has an excellent academic and conduct policy. Great school the teachers really care...And that makes the difference!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My daughter goes to Mastery Charter Shoemaker Campus and the school has does wonder for her I am considering moving to South Philadelphia but regret that I will be leaving behind Mastery charter. I think the school has done a great job in all circumstances. I think todays youth need that extra push because sometimes they dont get that at home. Keep up the Good Work Mastery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This is a great school. The school climate has proven to be a perfect match for my child. Keep up the good work Mastery!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

The teachers at the Thomas Campus are great. The curriculum is far too fast paced. The amount of daily homework is unreasonable and leads me to believe that it is far more than a review of the days learning. The fact that homework is 25% of a student s grade also supports this belief. The leadership of the entire Mastery seems more concerned that the rules of their school are strictly observed then addressing the concerns of students. Leadership also has an extremely conformist attitudes, individually is strongly discouraged. They say they are preparing the children for college. While I will agree that they are preparing them for the academic part of college, they are certainly failing when it come to the freedoms of expression that also exists on campuses .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Mastery is a 5 star academic school. The academic rates are awesome. Yes, we don't have a large variety of extra-curriculums ,but we've an awesome education on our hands. We've have say in this school, but it depends on the way we address things. The fact that we have a lot of white teachers shouldnt matter. Mastery doesn't choose teachers based on their race, but instead they choose based on the teachers quality and the students feedback on the teacher. Therefore, race is not a big issue. If their were quality black teachers searching for a job at Mastery, I'm sure they'd get hired. I've ssen it happen before ! Doesn't it make sense to group the kids in classes based on their academic levels? Why would you have an AP bound student in the same class as a student who can't grasp on to hard concepts?
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

Mastery is just fine the way it is, It's transforming these schools into great things. This school is transforming the way us students look at life. It's helping us create a better future for ourselves. Parents and students constantly complain about the strictness and the systems of Mastery. Mastery is Mastery because of the way they run things. Mastery is worshipped and adored by many people. They see the transformations occuring and they see the effect Mastery has on schools and students. The strictness and the school systems is what makes Mastery standout. We standout the most academic wise. ! I Love My School So Very Much !
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2010

Everybody thinks Mastery is a great school system, but what they are doing does not take rocket science. They have no activities for the students, the students have no voice it is basically whatever they say goes. The teachers are 95% white, but their student population is primarily black and if you are not a parent that is a bit involved they will do whatever they want to your child. They make the students purchase their novels and give them demerits if they don't, I am not saying parents should not play their part, but you definitly could not do that in your typical public school. Everyone think they are so successful because they have the answer they do some things well, but give all of our public schools in the city the same playing field: regarding uniform policy, Saturady school, fighting, disrespect etc. and watch all our students succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

Mastery Charter Schools turn out to be disappointing. It's a step up from the public schools, but it stops there. You can't compare the two--if you don't perform well enough (if you're a behavior problem, for example), you'll get sent right back to Philly's public school system. Besides that, the type of parents who sign up for Mastery are already at least minimally involved in their child's education, so already you have above-average students between those two factors! Other than that, they group homogeneously so students with low abilities will only ever interact with other students of low abilities and vice-versa. Borderline scripted lessons (first 20 minutes no questions allowed, next 10 ask questions, final 30 work independently) are the norm here. Teachers come and go like it's nobody's business. Firings and mysterious quittings add to the stress of the school environment. Don't get too excited about Mastery Charter Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

My child goes to this school amd it is the best in the Philadelphia region. The teachers are nice and they get the job done, they teach the children new things that they never knew. The princepal walks around goes from class to class and he is really nice. The school is just absolutly wonderful i HIGHLY recomend it for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

This is actually a great school. With all of the policies and rules to follow i thought i wouldnt like it,but when i experienced the fun and love that me and my peers share with each other, you grow to appreciate Mastery Charter Thomas Campus!! I Love My School!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
10%

2009

 
 
17%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male96%
Black93%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)77%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
Black67%
Asian87%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Black86%
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)54%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Black88%
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female50%
Male52%
Black46%
Asian81%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Black93%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female70%
Male69%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female46%
Male66%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students9%
Female3%
Male15%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Black87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
White 13% 71%
Hispanic 5% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

927 Johnston St
Philadelphia, PA 19148
Phone: (267) 236-0036

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fell D Newlin School
Philadelphia, PA


Stella Maris School
Philadelphia, PA



Taggart John H School
Philadelphia, PA


Our Lady of Hope
Philadelphia, PA


St Monica School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT