Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Science Leadership Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
I just wanted to say thank you to all of the teachers who did care and the humble staff who cared enough to help me with all my problems. Did a better job than the counselor.

Science Leadership Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers honestly care and some are a bit too care free. It's almost become a joke.


Science Leadership Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
The amount of homework is excessive and along the lines of ridiculous. I feel bad for the current students now.

Science Leadership Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
There is no need for respect and no standards. The students do whatever they want.

Science Leadership Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
If you don't follow the general populations opinions you will get thrown to the sharks. Students act caring when visitors are around but it's like a normal highschool. God forbid you don't agree with someone and the drama that results from it is ridiculous.


Science Leadership Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
People skip classes. Do drugs in the park and in the school. It's almost embarrassing.

Science Leadership Academy 1

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
The food is the last thing you need to worry about. Over time, the quality of students have gone down and the teachers who did exceedingly well left. There are no standards as to how well you need to behave. There are no metal detectors, which make weapons easy to sneak in. The staff is wonderful, especially the officer, lunch ladies, and even the janitor. However the name of the school is slightly misleading, science is not the schools strong suit, and the students only use lab coats for visitors. It's as if the school puts on a show and when the visitors leave its all back to normal. The students have no discipline, and are essentially allowed to do whatever they want such as skipping class. From my observation I feel bad for the workers to are responsible for cleanup, because the school is constantly dirty, and students purposely litter the lunchroom and the halls. Hopefully the quality of people accepted will improve.

Science Leadership Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a community member
I'm only shadowing and everyone is so nice and welcoming. I love it and would recommend this school to anyone.


Science Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
From the principal to the security staff, they were all great. They are not just great educators, they are caring people. They truly have the students best interest at heart. They are not push overs and they keep the parents abreast of what is going on with the students. Whenever, I needed to meet with the teacher to discuss what ever the issue was, they were always accommodating. From day one to graduation, I felt as though my child received the best education in a public school setting. I did not need to send her to a private school for the well rounded education she received. Thank you, Science Leadership Academy.

Science Leadership Academy 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a student
You always hear about how Philadelphia schools care more about the money than the kids; how the teachers consider their positions as just a job rather than an opportunity to help a student grow. This school is in every way, shape and form not your typical Philadelphia public school. I am a 2011 graduate from Science Leadership Academy (SLA) and this is the school to be if you want your child, or you to feel accepted as an individual. Even after you graduate, you can still feel the connection you have with the school. I personally feel a connection with this school, probably even more since I graduated. My father passed right after I graduated high school and at the funeral, while walking down the isle, it was Mr. Lehmann who pulled me in for a well needed hug, saying that everything would be okay. Now, I'm not sure how it is at other high schools, but for him to have made time to come to such an important event really made a difference and impacted my thoughts in a whole new way on what it means to be part of the SLA community. Being part of SLA is being part of a family.

Nearby schools

Science Leadership Academy
2130 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA  19103
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (215) 979-5620
Last modified Science Leadership Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top