Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8 | 391 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenixville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2011

Holy Family School is an excellent school. My son is in his first year at the school and absolutely loves going to school! He is thriving academically as well as spritually and socially. The teachers are so dedicated to the overall well-being of each child. The school as a whole feels like one big family. Our choice to send our son to Holy Family was one of the best decisions we have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

This is my second year at HFS and I am more than pleased. My three children are thriving. Each of them has a varied and thorough educational experience not to mention an integrated and meaningful experience of the Catholic faith. As a teacher myself I see how hard all three teachers of my children work to make their day a valuable one. The principal is really interested in what the parents think and shows how she takes feedback and turns it into results (at the Back to School night). I volunteer and many of the teachers and children know me by name. I am always welcomed no matter how busy things are or what time of day it is. I can't say enough....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Holy Family is an excellent school. The teachers are caring and committed to student learning. The Principal has a clear focus and is truly committed to the students. The school is warm and welcoming. I can not imagine a better place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Holy Family School has provided not only a wonderful educational foundation for my children, but also a sense of community, faith and service. The teachers and staff are committed to excellence, and strive to bring out the best in every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

My son attends this school currently and I agree with the assessments of other parents. This school is an embarrassment to the Catholic Church and Phoenixville. When I initially toured the school I was informed that the previous principal had done a poor job of managing the school. So I was very excited for the new principal and all of the hype surrounding her plans. Wow what a mistake that was! My sons teacher barely taught anything at all. Bullying is an issue and the conditions of the school are disgusting to say the least. This of course unless you are speaking of the principals office which was new refurbished with money that should have been spent elsewhere. Save your money and send your children to a school that is not affiliated with the Catholic Church. Trust me in the old days you worried about many things, education was not it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I have two children at HFS and they have been there since pre-school. We love this school! It isn't perfect but I'm sure any problems that it does have are the same everywhere. The teachers and staff are above average. The teachers and staff have handled any problems in the best possible way and I feel are very fair. The education that my children are receiving is above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

This school is an embarassment to the Church, town and Religion all together. It was the worst experience we've ever encountered. I urge parents to look around there is so much lacking there.


Posted November 25, 2008

We have two children in the school and another entering next year. We love HFS! Our children have flourished both academically and spiritually at Holy Family. Technology/Music/Arts/Theatre/Spanish - they have it all. The teachers are committed to each child, developing individual learning plans that meet each of our child's needs. Having read some of the other posts, I can say that bullying (very, very limited) has always been addressed properly in my opinion. Teachers respond promptly to problems, and children are encouraged and guided to work out thier problems with each other as they'll need to do on thier own later in life. That being said, my children are also properly introduced to Christian values of sharing, responsibility, service and respect. Visit the website to see all that HFS has to offer www.myholyfamilyschool.org
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

As former students of Holy Family School we would like to say that our 9 years of education there were excellent. We had so much fun doing class activities and the teachers made learning something that would normally be boring, fun! We grew up and matured during our years there with the help of the great staff. Graduation was a cemermony filled with tears. We had counted down the days til graduation, but once it came, we were sad that our experience at HFS had ended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

We pulled all three of our kids out of Holy Family. One felt she was teaching herself - the teachers basically had them read textbooks. We felt one was struggling with reading and when brought to the teacher's attention she said she didn't see it and brushed our concerns aside (she flourished at her new school when she got the extra help she needed). Also bullying seems to be tolarated which is quite sad for a Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

I had 2 children in this school and the buulying problem was TOTALLY ignored. The staff is too concerned with tuition coming in than fixing their problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I had three children attend over 8 years at this school. The commitment of the teachers and parents are often quite good, but the school fails in a number of areas. Bullying has not adequately been addressed. Children who have special needs such as ADHD, Asperger's, etc are not properly identified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

My two children have blossomed at Holy Family School. The school's technology program is state of the art...and their arts, music & theatre program is outstanding. Supportive family & learning enviroment to meet all the aspects of our children's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Wonderful welcoming Christian environment --The teachers, administration and staff provide a high quality educational experience. Outstanding academic education coupled with a comprehensive religious program. Look no further -Holy Family has it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

I am reviewing HFS's pre-school program. My daughter attended both the 3's and 4's Pre-K program and it was wonderful. She has learned Spanish words and how to write her letters. She has also learned many religious values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

My child had a great experience here in the PreK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

My son is going here this year for PreK and has matured alot. He has also learned alot academically. I thought PreK would still be mostly 'play time' at first, but they really have taught him alot of academics. He comes home all the time saying all of these new words in Spanish or knowing the whole Pledge of Allegiance and such. He's had a great experience there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Small class size, really nice, involved teachers, lots of extracurricular activities. Good catholic educaton.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2003

Hard work by the teachers and the parents make this school an excellent place to learn in the catholic curriculum. Holy Family has good to great, committed teachers who have made my three children excited about learning. The main school benefit comes from parent involvement as well as strong support from the local community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Philadelphia
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

221 3rd Avenue
Phoenixville, PA 19460
Phone: (610) 933-7562

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Barkley El School
Phoenixville, PA




Schuylkill El School
Phoenixville, PA


Chesterbrook Academy
Phoenixville, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT