Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chesterbrook Academy

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenixville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

Chesterbrook Academy is a great school which maximizes each child's learning potential. Given the small classroom size, the teachers are truly able to tailor their teaching content and style for the child. I never question if my child is being challenged, in a good way. I have had one child graduate from here and she is a standout academically and from a leadership perspective at her current school. My other children still attend. It also has a nice sense of community where we are very comfortable and have made lifetime friends. I definitely recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

This school is a great value. I have two kids here and the teachers and the entire staff truly care about your children. You can expect that they are safe, challenged and prepared for middle school. I only wish they went to 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

This school is a great school. They do serve children with minor problems and individualize instruction. A great value for your money.


Posted January 20, 2014

unsupportive, unwilling to work with students with minor problem. Waste of money poor value for what you get. They do not provide any support if the child has any challenges. They sell the school on providing n individualized education because class sizes are small, but they deal with problems by not servicing anyone with challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

Great school! Caring and effective teachers, challenging academic program, great after school program and efficient school management. My son has been studying in the school since pre-K, he loves his school and his teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

Our daughter is in her second year at this school, and her experiences have been terrific (max class size has been 14). The teachers really care about each kid and challenge them academically; early grades are grouped by ability (reading, math) - all of the students learn better and faster. Respectful behavior is always expected of kids, consistent with how we parent. The parents group had hit its stride this year as more folks got involved. Wish list: (a) better info about what is going on in her 'specials' (especially gym, but also Spanish, computer, and music) (b) the school could be cleaner (maybe that's just the nature of K-8 schools?), (c) the playground needs sod (for a long time now) and more gear. Those are relatively small issues relative to how well this school meets our daughter's (and our) needs at an affordable cost. A great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

While I think the curriculum taught is of high quality, the school is not run well. The teachers are often confused and unaware of the happenings in the school, communication to the parents about the students day is lacking and the principal doesn't seem to have a full grip on what the teachers are doing. It's frustrating for a parent and is probably frustrating for the teachers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

Our son has been in Chesterbrook for two years. He is entering second grade in Fall 2004. We have been very happy with the individualized, quality education that he has received. The small class size has been a tremdous plus for our son. There is no where for him to slip into the cracks. If he needs help he gets it. He has been appropriately challanged and is much more advanced then he would be in the public school system. Our daughter will be joining our son at the school in Fall 2004 for Junior Kindergarten. We feel that it is well worth the extra cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 9% 0%
Black 6% 15%
Hispanic 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
Girls sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

711 Hollow Road
Phoenixville, PA 19460
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 935-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holy Family School
Phoenixville, PA


Barkley El School
Phoenixville, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT