Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ferguson Twp El School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2011

I love how attentive the teachers are to each of the children's needs. They are supportive and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

We aren't happy. The expectations are not academically high. Teaching is to the lowest common denominator. The reading program and library are rigid and unaccomodating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

I have had the chance to not only see this wonderful school from the outer circle as a parent but from the inside as a volunteer as well. I am amazed at the opportunities provided to the students to achieve at all levels. They are not only taught the academics but empathy for others and the importance of being a good person. It is comforting knowing that you are sending your child to a place that is invested in their whole well-being!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

This school is AMAZING!!! I can't say enough good things about this school. The staff at Ferguson are wonderful! Any of them are there at all times ready to listen, help, and share about anything you need. They have great contact between parent and teacher. This school makes living here feel like one huge family! So proud to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I have enjoyed having my boys being a part of the Ferguson Elementary School. I love the teaching and the help the kids get if they need it and the closeness of the kids and parents and all the activities are Great!! My boys have not complained and they love being a part of this school. Sadly we will be moving away after this school year, so everyone will be missed by me and my boys!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Ferguson Township Elementary exemplifies the word 'Family'. I've been involved with Ferguson for many years and have watched the administration and teachers change - but somehow the heart and soul of the 'Ferguson Family' always remains consitent. Caring, nurturing, loving. There is a magic within our walls - Each member of Ferguson's staff, from Principal to custodial, each amazing teacher, each member of the PTO, each student intern.....everyone catches it. I moved back to Pine Grove Mills so that my second child could attend Ferguson. Ferguson's environment fosters not only a love for learning, but, by example, teaches the kids valuable life lessons about caring about, nurturing and respecting your community, friends and environment. Our Ferguson Family is unique - I'm so happy and proud to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

I think Ferguson Township Elementary is the best elementary school. If you want a school that provides your child with the best possible advantages to achieve their goals and reach for the stars. The staff at Ferguson go above and beyond their roles to be there every step your child makes toward success. It is amazing that the teachers,support staff and administration all have the same goal for every child. I am very happy to have 3 children attend Ferguson and they all have enjoyed their years there. That is why Ferguson is the best school in the USA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Ferguson Township Elementary is the greatest school in the world! My daughter is in fith grade, her last year there, and she doesn't want to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Imagine a school where everyone smiles and where the teachers love, love, love their careers. Imagine spending your day in a place where you know you are loved and the staff desires to you see you reach your greatest potential. Can you believe that there is a school in the country that feels more like an extended family than an institution. Imagine being a parent at a school for twelve years with four children attending and never hearing negative gossipy words from a teacher or staff member. What would it be like to be a child who boards the bus after school and looks out the window to see EVERY teacher smiling and waving 'good'bye!' I don't have to imagine because my children have lived this dream at Ferguson! Ferguson staff....if you are reading this please know who much we appreciate you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Our school has a strong family atmosphere. The staff, parents and students are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Ferguson has the absolute BEST teachers and staff we could ask for. It is a very small town, old school with so much character. I feel so safe sending my child there, I know he is being well taken care of. We just moved here about 2 years ago and the day I stepped foot in the door I felt welcome. I have had such an outpouring of people willing to help and we have made so many friends that I would call family. Ferguson is where it started for us, what an amazing school to be a part of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Ferguson Elementary, to me, is more than a school - it is a family. A family where each member -- including staff, faculty, students and parents -- is respected, encouraged, included and loved. What better place to nurture and develop a lifelong love of learning? I'm both fortunate and proud that I and my children are members of the Ferguson family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

Excellent school.Every child is recognized as an individual with potential to thrive academically and socially.Parent volunteers are welcomed and add to the feeling of community support.Great teachers and committed Principal. A safe learning environment.A gem of a school! John,a Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

Wonderful school - my daugter loves it there. I haven't found a techer that I do not absolutely love. Parent involment is absolutely amazing - you have to actually compete with parents to get on a comittee or volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female93%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female78%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female79%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female68%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students69%
Female79%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 West Main St
Pine Grove Mills, PA 16868
Phone: (814) 231-4119

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nittany Christian School
State College, PA




Corl Street El School
State College, PA



Wonderland Cs
State College, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT