Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dormont El School 5

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
We have two in currently and a third entering next year. The principal is a ball of happy energy and my kids think he's the coolest person ever (we've seen him out and they lose their minds) He genuinely cares and it comes through. Our teachers to this point (3rd) have been fantastic. My shy child has emerged from her shell and is in a special afterschool art program, advanced math and her teachers have given her the praise she needed to find her confidence. I love them for that. They have a golden ticket program that keeps the kids behaving and trying to earn the admiration of teacher/administrators. All the staff has been amazing. The secretary is sweet and helpful and nurse is wonderful. Unfortunately have had too many run-ins but she's always great. I can't say enough good about our experience to date. Not to mention the amazing PFO and group of parents that organize family activities and school projects. Its a dedicated group and I'd put ours up against any school. I tell everyone I meet that Dormont Elementary is top-notch.

Dormont El School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Bixler was her best 'pairing' thus far. She just reached her on so many levels. She really boosted her self esteem and 2nd grade is the year she blossomed in my mind. She still adores her.


Dormont El School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
My child is thriving, come out of her shell, in an accelerated math program and an art program that she's learning extra with.

Dormont El School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Its not overwhelming. My daughter comes home and does hers in the first 30 minutes of being home. Any more would be too much at this age

Dormont El School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
They have a golden/blue ticket program that recognizes good behavior. Mine work so hard to get them. The only way to get them is to listen, behave, be a role model student. They have bully programs and various speakers every year who touch on the subject.


Dormont El School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
I like the school for my son who has some special needs. So far the teachers we have come across have been wonderful. I would recommend this school to other people asking.

Dormont El School 2

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
I liked this school when my daughter had attended. If you have any level of a special needs child forget it. The teachers mistreated him, they punished him when he did not pass a worksheet or a test. The principal was no help. I heard the principal and a few of the teachers laugh and make jokes about some of the children. When I had a specialist come to observe my son, in her words " take your son out of this school" I also had a teacher call my home to tell me the same.

Dormont El School 5

Posted July 07, 2011
- a parent
We have had such a positive experience with our first year at Dormont Elementary. Sending our first child to kindergarten last year, we weren't sure what to expect from the KO public school system, and our experience was top notch. The teachers at Dormont Elementary are involved and interested in the students, and I have been consistently amazed by the principal's extensive knowledge of the student body. The school secretary is delightful to work with, and I can't rave enough about my own child's kindergarten teacher--her control of the classroom, her nurturing approach, and her attention to each individual child's needs.


Dormont El School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a teacher
I can't say enough wonderful things about Dormont Elementary School but I'll try by reviewing a few of my favorite highlights. The principal does a spectaular job of leading and motivating the children, staff and parents. Nothing gets by Mr. Shevchik; his care and concern for the children and the facility is beyond excellent. The teachers at Dormont Elementary are wonderful, patient and kind. They take measured steps each year to prepare children for a lifetime of learning. Another major skill that is taught from K-5 is personal responsibility. The school also does a fantastic job of passing on through learning and exposure an appreciation, and many times love of reading, art, music & physical activity . Each grade level is filled with teachers that work together and truly love teaching children.

Dormont El School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Great school! Teachers are really caring, good mix of students and great administration.

Nearby schools

Dormont El School
3200 Annapolis Ave, Pittsburgh, PA  15216
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (412) 571-6152
Last modified Dormont El School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top