Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keystone Oaks High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2013

This school is wonderful. The teaches are very caring and care about making sure the students get a good education. You can definitely count on the teachers to do their job and care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

Keystone Oaks has seen better days. It isn't the worst school in the area, but it is surely not the greatest. Good teachers exist throughout the system, but many are very unhelpful and care far too much about discipline. The stereotypes the people of authority place on kids is disgusting. If you wear baggy clothing and have gauged earrings, they will try their hardest to get you in trouble. My son loves the punk rock scene, which is okay as long as he stays out of trouble. But recently they called me in to tell me that they found an empty pack of cigarettes on him and that they were going to fine him for tobacco possession. At this point I was appalled that they were dead serious. I didn't even care about him smoking anymore, more so that they wanted ME to pay almost 200 dollars because he was in possession of an empty container. Absolutely ridiculous. And now that this happened, resources have told me that I am not alone. And that many, MANY, kids, and their parents are going through fines and other disciplinary action because of minor incidents. All this school wants is money, money, money. I was satisfied with the middle school. But the high school is well below average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I used to attend Baldwin/Whitehall HS and I had to move to Keystone Oaks halfway through 10th. The switch was by far the biggest sense of culture shock I have ever been through. I don't know what these people are talking about. But the teachers lack control of the students. If the period ends at 10:15, kids are waiting outside the door by 10:05. Many teachers don't even bother trying with the kids who sleep in class. And in between periods, kids run around, swear all they want, and simply don't go to class while the teachers watch and not give a care in the world. And there are always shady groups of kids hanging around the bathroom in the middle of a period. The entire school smells of cigarette smoke and is falling apart. Maybe it's different for parents who have always been here. But for me, I would suggest going to Setan La Salle across the street. Or moving to Baldwin which I absolutely loved attending. I now go to this school so I have first hand experience. The education isn't terrible, but it is definitely lacking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2010

It can be a decent school if you're willing to work hard to get a good education and not let others hold you back. If you're self-motivated and strive to do well, you can and will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

A great school to attend, yet somewhat different from other schools. None the less, I wouldn't want to go to school anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2006

As a graduate and now a parent of children within the school district I can honestly say that Keystone Oaks provided a quality education. The children themselves do have to be responsible for their own actions, especially at this level, as they are preparing for the adult world. There are more than enough extracurricular activities and academics without being overwhelming. Personally, I had the best guidance counselor, she kept me on track all four years. I appreciate her more as the years pass.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Keystone Oaks is really good at educating my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

The academic programs provide for sturdy learning experiences; the teachers pass on their love of the material, to any student willing to accept it, through well-funded and supplied classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2004

Well IAm the same mother that complained about the Graduation issues about the students being recognized for there accomplishments.My daughter will be still attending K.O.for it is a great school and there is never any trouble and I do feel my child is safe there and the teachers are great they do learn alot.And I still would recommend K.O.for any parents for a good school. They just need to change some things about Graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

170 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
32%

2009

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female66%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian46%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian36%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students39%
Female43%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asian18%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 2% 15%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Kelton Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15216
Phone: (412) 571-6040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pittsburgh Pioneer
Pittsburgh, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT