Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Pittsburgh, PA
Students enrolled: 629
 

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Mellon Middle School 2

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
The students are way too wild at this school. There use to be teachers and substitutes who could handle it (not anymore).

Mellon Middle School 3

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
Okay school. My children miss a very nice male teacher that use to be here everyday (or almost everyday). Wasn't sure if he was a substitute or an actual teacher. My children said he was a substitute that was in the school a lot and for different subjects, but I believe I have seen him there everyday just about (but not at all this past school year). Just wondering who he is and if he is still there, my children really looked up to him.


Mellon Middle School 4

Posted December 06, 2013
- a community member
Excellent group of teachers and the children love it here. Over the past several years, the staff here has been among some of the best in the district with some of the hardest students in the district!

Mellon Middle School 4

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Bullying? Rich versus Poor? This is a very diverse neighborhood and a well-rounded group of kids. Most of the families in this area are middle-class. I give you that incidents happen, and as a parent with children in this school, I apologize if this happened to your child. But to categorize an entire school - and school district - in this manner is unfair. Mount Lebanon is one of the most diverse communities - with rich and poor, conservative and liberal, professional and blue-collar. We may lack diversity but I've seen that change in a major way between my oldest and youngest - so we are headed in the right direction. I myself had a child with severe emotional and behavioral problems complete this middle school (and eventually graduate high school) and I can't thank the teachers and principals enough for their caring, one on one attention to her. They stepped in beyond what I would ever expect! And my perspective is from out of the area. I moved here from a poor, rural area. The opportunities my children have here are tremendous compared to my hometown.

Mellon Middle School 5

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
Bullying? This is about as mild a middle school environment as you can get on this earth; while even middle class kids are not always nice to each other, I challenge you to find a nicer place to send your kids to school, or a better public education. Mt. Lebanon in general is a bit smug, but it also frankly has some justification for it; how many places can your kids walk nearly everywhere, by themselves, as school-age children?


Mellon Middle School 3

Posted October 26, 2011
- a community member
there is a bully issue with this school and its not a very welcoming school if your new to the area, most of the girls are in cliques and do not include others who are not on their same economic status. I have seen one girl get beat up by kids too large to attend there, kind of big for middle school but knew they went there, i even seen a teacher look and then look away really fast. There are two types of students here, those who are from rich families and those from barely surviving...and little in between, I feel sorry for any working class kid that has to attend here, I seen first hand what goes on and its appalling to me.

Mellon Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a parent
Great school district. Mt. Lebanon is among the few to actually have a researched based reading program that has been proven to work. The principal Dr. Bridget Watson is very knowledgeable. She as well as the teachers are highly qualified, caring and make this school top notch!

Mellon Middle School 3

Posted September 11, 2010
- a parent
Limited educational opportunities for children in life skills. Lacking in creative ways to involve special education students. Teachers do not go out of their way to involve life skills studetns


Mellon Middle School 4

Posted March 22, 2006
- a parent
The curriculum is challenging. Nine out of 10 teachers are highly qualified. Opportunities for music, art and sports activities exist. Not enough extracurricular activities for boys who are non-athletic. Art activities are usually attended by girls. Parents are very involved. This is not a good school (the whole school district) is not very effective in supporting special ed students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mellon Middle School
11 Castle Shannon Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA  15228
(412) 344-2122
Last modified Mellon Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mellon Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top