Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Linton Middle School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2011

Bananas dont believe these people. Linton is great lol and they have the wrong info... its 6-8th grade lol.


Posted June 15, 2010

We have been very happy with Linton - it gets bad press due to the municipality, but the same problems exist in more affluent disctricts - these just don't get the press. Our child is in the gifted program and we have been very happy with the teaching and offerings at Linton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

linton middle school alright but when a student gets in trouble the teachers time and energy is all on that student and the good students are often ignored.also the teachers say when you have a problem come to them well some students do but the teachers dont do anything about it and the students have to deal with the problem themselves which often lead to fighting.lastly the teachers often have attitudes with the students and the students didnt even do anything which makes the students have attitudes. the teachers sometimes say that theres no such thing as a stupid question but they often sy that the students question was stupid
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2009

I'm a sixth grader at Linton and Linton is a great school. You shouldn't believe all of the stuff you here about it. So what there are fights sometimes? Kids in every school get into fights? okay well it may not be a perfect school but i've never heard of a school that is. People really need to give Linton a chance. They shouldn't judge by the stuff that they hear.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

Please Read! It's the year 2009 i'm currently in the 7th grade and my school is not bad. Every school has problems. Those of you who are saying my school is bad is wrong. I was on the volleyball team and Woodland Hills threw rocks at our bus. So why don't you go to there page in talk about how bad they are and there is not a fight every day sometimes there isn't a fight for six months in a row so please get your facts straiaght before you go and talk about my school!!!!=( love you linton keep on rocking and i get straight A's bout im bad at spelling the teavhers rock on and are enchoraging like i said im bad at spelling but it's not the teacher's fsult
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2008

Do not send you child here . There are poor classes and fights almost every and teachers yelling about rude students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2008

Penn hills is good, don't judge us were just kids. I am a 7th grader-student. Our school is very good. Everyone has faults.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2008

I Think that there is a lack of respect from both teachers and students.At Linton middle school there is a lack of education. the education is often interrupted by disruptive students fighting,talking back,and acting out in the classroom.at my school we have metel detecters in the main enterance that is a helpful thing,but there is not enough time for every student to go through the detecter. parents are not involved in any of the few items that we do. the principal leadership is ok. that is my statement of the school that i will be attending for 6th,7th,8th, and 9th grade. submitted by a current student
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

I have a 9th grader at Linton. I'm so impressed by the level of teacher involvement at this school. My kid's teachers are in constant contact with parents. They are approachable, and enthusiastic professionals. My kid has learned more than I ever thought possible. I can't wait until my younger child gets up to the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

I think this school has somethimg very special about it and I konw that anyone who gradurates from there will have a very excellent year in high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

The quality of academics is so poor at Linton, I am so disappointed. I purchased a home here 10 years ago, so my children would have a good education. Boy was I wrong. The teachers do not motivate the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

no direction. students aren't led to believe that they can be anything, and thus never even try. some strides have been made the last few years, but still a very insubstantial public school. no child left behind means more proficiency, but that is the target. the hallways are thus quite difficult to navigate, often impossible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2006

Linton does have it's problems, and I agree Penn Hills is changing which means the schools are going to change also.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 16, 2005

Yes this school has their problems just like any other school, but this school knows how to handle theirselves. They also have good safety matters and is a good school I am a student who goes there now and am in the 9th grade and I have been there all 4 yrs from 6th to 9th grade and this is my last year there then I go up to the high school. Overall its a good quality school for kids in Penn Hills
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2004

This school does have problems, as do many other schools. The teachers care and are respectful. Parents need to get tuned in. If your child causes problems at school, address it at home, don't get them a new video game to occupy them instead. If your child is having difficulties with thier academic studies, help them or seek out a tutor. Many teachers are willing to help, ask them respectfully without accusing them of not educating your child. Linton can be a tough place, so is the world. Parents are thier childrens most important advocate, and that doesn't mean that children do no wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school is out of control. There is no time for learning. It is a matter of just trying to survive. The administration refuses to deal with problem students. They are intimidated by the students and their parents. It is no longer the district that is in control it is the trouble making students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The discipline problems have a tendency to overshadow the positive academic strides that teachers make. Gifted programs address the needs of gifted students, special ed addresses the needs of special needs students, but when students are exposed to the rudeness of their peers in the activities that are not exclusive, the outcome is destructive. Respect for kids who do their work is non-existent. It just isn't cool to do what the teacher is asking. A student is not respected by the other students if he or she listens respectfully to the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I think the lack of discipline has greatly affected the teachers' ability to teach their classes. Something needs to be done. Some of my child's classes seem to be nothing more than a waste of her time. I want her to learn, but the environment at Linton does not make that an easy thing to do. I think some of the teachers get frustrated and give up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

264 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

264 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

269 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

331 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

327 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

319 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

325 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Black59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female45%
Male34%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female57%
Male41%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female54%
Male40%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female66%
Male69%
Black57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male53%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female73%
Male69%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female69%
Male59%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students36%
Female36%
Male36%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students39%
Female56%
Male25%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 15%
White 35% 71%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Aster St
Pittsburgh, PA 15235
Phone: (412) 795-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Bartholomew School
Pittsburgh, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT