Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Pittsburgh, PA
Students enrolled: 262

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I have two children that attend this school and couldn't be more pleased with it. They kids are challenged, but not overwhelmed by their work. The principal is very much involved and easily approachable/reachable for conversation. The teachers are excellent and you can tell they truly enjoy the kids and their jobs. I would like to see more involvement from the other parents. It seems like the same two dozen parents are always the ones that get involved with activities/fundraisers/etc. Overall, however, I'm really happy with things!

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
The new principal this year has been a real blessing to this school! When you walk in the doors the hallways are decorated like a safari - They call it a Comprehension Safari because they are Wild about learning! Kids are motivated and most of the teachers are outstanding. This is a real gem in the city schools!


Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 5

Posted October 26, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 1

Posted April 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 4

Posted June 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 4

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
I agree with the others that the level of parental involvement and the quality of the teaching staff are two of the school's greatest strengths. In general, the student population is friendly. The children have art, music, and gym on a regular basis.

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 5

Posted February 15, 2007
- a parent
Banksville Elementary school is an excellent neighborhood school. The teachers are excellent and committed to their jobs and the new principal (Dr Washington) is a wonderful, caring individual who treats the students with respect and motherly compassion! The parent school community meetings involves the combined input of staff, community and teachers as well as the principal and is a great open forum to voice concern and accolades! Test scores reflect the level of parent involvement (though there is room for improvement) which is what the PSCC meetings are aware of and currently addressing. I would highly recommend this school to anyone if you like to be involved as a parent and want to see your child enjoy success!

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 4

Posted February 07, 2007
- a parent
I love the teachers @ this school, however, the principal is not very parent friendly. This school need to have a principal that cares about what the parents have to say.


Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 4

Posted March 18, 2006
- a parent
I think that the school works hard to make every child feel welcomed. They have some great teachers. However, sometimes the principal seems to not care abou the concerns of he parents. She asks for opinions and then does what she wants anyway.

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 4

Posted June 24, 2005
- a parent
I think Banksville elementary is a great neighborhood school with qualified and caring teachers. There are lots of programs and opportunities for student enrichment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pittsburgh Banksville K-5
1001 Carnahan Rd, Pittsburgh, PA  15216
(412) 571-7400
Last modified Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pittsburgh Banksville K-5 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top