Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Pittsburgh, PA
Students enrolled: 1,360

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Plum Senior High School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
School deserves it's 9 out of 10 rating here. Nice school, improved Keystone test score, PSSA (highest ever), area becoming more wealthier. Several remaining farms have been or will be sold for housing development. Extremely easy and convenient to get to downtown Pittsburgh. Plum schools are pretty good and very safe. A good, solid choice in the east suburbs. Much of the town is still rural and older and newer neighborhoods.

Plum Senior High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
If you are moving to Pittsburgh, this school district continues to get better and I strongly recommend it. Plum is growing and the district continues to improve as seen by the 9 out of 10 rating. Plum is becoming one of the best in the east. The town has recently been rated as the 6th safest city in the United States. New schools are being built and many of the teacher staff have masters and doctorate degrees. Probably one of the reasons over 100 of the district's 300 teachers make over $100,000 a year. All the elementary schools are excellent and getting better. There has also been a lot of upscale housing developments and new ones on the way. Homes are available in the low 100k to 700k range but unfortunately inventory is low, especially with preexisting housing which is driving up home costs. Good schools, safe neighborhoods and demand for homes will continue to drive the prices up, but compared to other good school districts in other states, prices are still very affordable. Plum is a desirable Pittsburgh suburb which has an up and coming school district and a growing community of professionals that will is attracting families moving into the area. Buy Here Now!


Plum Senior High School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
I am very pleased with this high school. The guidance counselors and teachers have been incredible and worked hard to meet my child's needs. The music department is top notched with the best music wing and auditorium in the entire Pittsburgh region. Plum's auditorium rivals theaters in Pittsburgh's downtown cultural district. I do believe a lot of attention is focused on PSSAs. The high school grading scale is much higher than all the schools in the region, but I have heard that scale is being adjusted to the same level as the other high schools. I truly recommend this high school and the districts other schools. The area and district have become much more progressive. It you are looking for an area with good schools, safe and growing neighborhoods and reasonable housing (150-500k) than Plum is definately the place for you.

Plum Senior High School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
Very well educated teacher base, and I guess that justifies one of the highest teachers salaries in the region. Strong teacher union. Not sure if that is negitive or positive. Probably positive in attracting top teachers. It is known that Plum has an incredible retirement packages for their teachers and it appears younger and well educated instructors are filling positions throughout the school district. The high school is very lovely and I feel very safe here after relocating my family from DC. A lot of new homes are being built and will continue to drive up prices, but for excellent schools, low-crime and easy access into Pittsburgh, it makes it very worth it.

Plum Senior High School 1

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
The school year just ended and qualified teachers is something that is definitely missing from this high school. This should be a major concern for all parents with students in this school district. Administrators and guidance help is positively nonexistant! I am looking for an alternative place for my children to attend school next year!!


Plum Senior High School 2

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
My child is a special education student with an IEP. He has yet to pass a PSSA test and can barely write. Guidance/adminstration assures me he will graduate, but I don't know how if he can't pass the PSSA tests.

Plum Senior High School 2

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
I only have one child but if I had other children I would definitely move out of the Plum Borough School District before that child reached high school age. It has to be among one of the worse high schools I have ever seen. If the teachers teach at all, it is to the PSSA tests. Try getting help for your child who is struggling and you get pushed around from guidance to teachers and back and forth. NO ONE will help and NO ONE wants to take responsibility for your child's learning!!!!! If you have a gifted child get out of Plum as soon as you can!

Plum Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This is the last year I will have to deal with this school and am anxious for it to be over. If an average school, teach for standardized testing is for you, this is it. Keep in mind, it is a public school and they teach to the general population. If you have an above average student or an achiever, find somewhere else. If you think things will improve as your child gets higher in the grades, it doesn't.


Plum Senior High School 2

Posted October 11, 2009
- a student
PHS is just an 'ok' school. The administration is lacking, yes, and the teachers are a mixed bag. Some teachers are gems and others are just awaiting retirement and coasting throuugh. Some genuinely care about their students and some are just there for the paycheck. In my experience, PHS teaches extremely to standardized tests. The school in general is far too focused on athletics. There is very little student motivation and teachers do little to engage students in learning and excite students about education. There is a huge divide and tons of tension between teachers/administration and students/administration. Don't get me wrong though, PHS is not as bad as I make it sound, but with so many other brilliant high schools in the surrounding areas, one should explore other options before choosing Plum High School.

Plum Senior High School 3

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Teachers who teach AP classes seem more motivated than others. Most of AP teachers follow the requirement of the College Board guidelines. Most of teaches at this school do not cover enough materials so that students are not able to take various College Board SAT II tests. The honor classes are not very challenging and teaching pace is slow.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plum Senior High School
900 Elicker Rd, Pittsburgh, PA  15239
(412) 795-4880
Last modified Plum Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Plum Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top