Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
497 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seton-La Salle High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
This varies from teacher to teacher. Some assign a large amount of homework, others not so much. For the most part, students are given adequate warning about bigger projects and assignments. They have to learn to manage their time, which is one of the challenges of being a teenager today.

Seton-La Salle High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to try something new, such as start a club or join a new sport. Students support each other in these new ventures.


Seton-La Salle High School 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children graduated recently from Seton-La Salle. They were extremely well-prepared for college. In fact, they both received substantial academic scholarships, in part due to the excellent academic preparation they received in high school. As freshmen, they were introduced to a new sport, which they had never played before. They were welcomed on the teams, and were included in every way. Religion is an important part of the culture at the school; students treat each other with respect and dignity. I am aware of a number of students who transferred into the school because of bad social experiences (such as bullying) in their previous school. These new students were pleased with their decision to transfer to Seton. Again, all students are expected to treat each other (and the adults in the building) with respect. That attitude permeates the building, making it a positive place for the students to learn and mature.

Seton-La Salle High School 1

Posted June 13, 2014
- a student
False promises and unsatisfactory help. I went to Seton for my freshman year, hoping that it would do its job for "preparing me for the next step in life'. That was wrong however. Teacher help is hard to come by, and organization is also not where it should be. Instead of finding substitute teachers, we would spend hours at a time sitting in a gym. Some teachers were very unhelpful, and kept reminding us that "they hate their job". There is a lot of cruelness between the kids, and not much discipline is taken against it. The biggest joke was the chromebooks. Sure seton can hand out chromebooks. It makes them look good. But do they actually use them? No. I was hoping that the chromebook would help me be more organized, but that was far from true. We used the chromebook in about 2 out of the 8 classes every day. It was so confusing to keep going back and forth from text book to computer. I feel they took on the technology, but had no idea on how to actually use it in a productive manor. I would definitely not recommend this school to anyone.

Seton-La Salle High School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
Great school, with amazing technology. I graduated several years ago, and came back to help out with a JA program. I was blown away by the changes in the school. This school has better instructional technology than most of the public schools in the area. Every child is given a lap top, and every classroom has a SmartBoard (we had maybe 2 in the entire school when I graduated). With the changes in education, SLS is keeping up, and ahead of most schools when it comes to technology in the classroom. Athletics are phenomenal, and the teachers truly care about each student's success. I will be sending my kids here in the future if I am still in the area.


Seton-La Salle High School 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a student
I attended Seton for 3 years. I know, it s not ideal to leave after junior year, but I could not take it anymore. The social environment is extremely unhealthy. The girls are very catty and it seems that the school revolves around cliques. The boys are very immature and quite rude. I have witnessed truly cruel behavior to new students, and other than the academics being (somewhat) strong, I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Seton-La Salle High School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a student
Seton- La Salle has provided me with a great experience of hard work preparing me for college. I enjoy being in the friendly atmosphere with all of my friends.

Seton-La Salle High School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
I found this school very hard to deal with. The people are co-operative until your child is accepted then they give the attitude that you and your child are just something to deal with as pleasantly as possible. they should run for government office. I find that they tended to talk around you but not to you.


Seton-La Salle High School 5

Posted October 30, 2005
- a student
Seton-La Salle provided me with an education that prepared me for the next steps in my life. The teachers are excellent and the quality of education is top-notch. In my opinion, SLS is among the top in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seton-La Salle High School
1000 McNeilly Road, Pittsburgh, PA  15226
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (412) 561-3583
Last modified Seton-La Salle High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top