Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
248 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
The Campus School is truly the best deal in elementary education in Pittsburgh. Class size is small (10 - 16), the teachers are nurturing and always trying new things, and local high schools always report that the Carlow students are some of their most prepared entering freshman. The academic expectations are high, there are lots of extracurriculars, and there is a warmth about the school that is really special. I cannot speak highly enough of The Campus School and for half the price of most of the other independent schools in Pgh., it's been a great find for our family.

The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
My children both started Carlow in Pre-school; my daughter in the traditional track and my son is now in Montessori. Every teacher we've interacted with has been wonderful--- kind, supportive, and attentive; the parents are active and involved in the school, and the administrators are personable and responsive. There is a real community at Carlow-- made of parents, teachers, and administrators ---that is focused on the success of all the children in all aspects of their lives. The focus on STEAM starts early, with the Children's Innovation Project. My daughter drew circuit diagrams last year in kindergarten, can take electronic toys apart, and says she wants to be a scientist when she grows up. The kindness the upper school students show to their "little siblings" is amazing and made a huge impact in her life. Carlow connects all of the students of all ages together and teaches them to care for each other and for the larger community outside of school. The number of strangers who comment on how kind and well-mannered my children continues to surprise me, and I credit their school in large part for their demeanor.


The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Outstanding academics. As I said at last week's parent-teacher conference, I feel blessed to have teachers who understand that everyone -- young or old -- learns differently. The teachers know how to adapt to all types of learners (math whizzes, reading geniuses, sculpting pros, writing wizards, etc.). The recent acquisition of Google Chrome tablets and the partnership with the CMU science and technology education depts also encourage the students early on how to respect technology and circuits as useful tools. Sports is another area where the school excels. Our children are part of the cross-country team. Practice starts a bit later in the day than other schools given the work hours of coaches and parents. Therefore, the parents run --sometimes hobbling -- alongside the kids! Great atmosphere. The kids learn good sportsmanship. With this supportive environment, the kids cheer on fellow teammates as well as other schools' runners. You see this often at the meets. The idea of service and giving back to the world is instilled in them such that 8th graders must fulfill service hours prior to graduation. The goal of the school seems to be to develop empathic, active, humble, independent, motivated, respectful, lifelong-learning students. Based on the success of the graduates and also the current students, Campus School is very much meeting this goal.

The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
We looked at three schools - two private and one public. Carlow Campus School was recommended by two coworkers whose children went through K-8. My son is now enrolled. It's a great school and I'm glad we did it. It's a nurturing environment where you can tell they truly care about the students. He's learning a lot and loves to go to school - and that's very reassuring to me.

The Campus School Of Carlow University 1

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Humorously overrated educational standards coupled with awful teachers, just read reviews on 'rate my teachers.' It's pitiful.


The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school that really values and appreciates individuals. They do a wonderful job of challenging students upwards. The 6th, 7th, and 8th grade 'upper school' is especially successful at nurturing talents in students. The academic curriculum is supportive but also academically driven, and does a great job preparing students for some of the best independent high schools in the Pittsburgh area. Carlow students excel at the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Sciences competitions, including at the state levels; at the the Pittsburgh Regional Science and Engineering Fair; at the PA level National Geographic Bee competition; at the Southwestern PA Forensics League, and in many other endeavors such as Robotics, MathCounts, Spelling Bee, and more. The Spring Musical is outstanding, and better than many high school productions. I recommend this school highly.

The Campus School Of Carlow University 1

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
An extraordinarily bad experience-think Lord of the Flies-but I caution anyone against enrolling in Montessori 3-5 here. Like any curriculum, Montessori s execution depends on the quality of classroom teaching. It does not work when the teacher plays favorites, avoids responsibility for student learning outcomes, and has poor classroom management skills. My experience was that kids were pretty much left to their own devices for the first three semesters. If your three- or four-year-old is more likely to "choose" art, yoga, or snack than reading or math, you risk her going to first grade unprepared. My guess is that 50% of the families leave unhappy. And it gets worse: Would you be comfortable with a teacher who says "what's the matter with you" to your four-year-old when she answers a question incorrectly? Same for bullying: good teachers address it, bad teachers deny a problem exists. That's a bitter pill to swallow at $10K/year. If you consider Montessori here, choose carefully between classrooms and keep a close eye on preparedness for first grade. With current expectations for incoming first graders, an unstructured Montessori is more of a gamble than traditional preschool.

The Campus School Of Carlow University 2

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
In some ways, it may be more appropriate to compare the Campus School (est. $10K annual tuition) to diocesan schools with larger class sizes but approximately one-half tuition costs rather than to other independents/privates at this point. There's been significant turnover in executive directors since 2006. Approximately 20 percent of 2010-2011 first graders did not re-enroll for the 2011-2012 year. There is parent concern about curriculum in the primary grades, and about math and languages in grades 6-8. A recent parent survey revealed concern with teacher quality. Class size is increasing, possibly due in part to declining enrollment. The school lacks a detailed policy on bullying. In practice: "Deny anything is happening, then blame the victim and refer the kid to behavioral therapy." Rumor has it that one teacher referred one-third of her class to behavioral therapy. Parents are friendly and involved but school leadership seems to lack sense of urgency about change. Lots of missed deadlines, lots of excuses, lots of glittering generalities. What can you overhear parents complaining about? Teachers playing favorites in a way that's obvious to the kids.


The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
Great school, help build self-confidence and self-esteem. Try to bring out the talents of each individual. Everybody is friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend.

The Campus School Of Carlow University 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
Great school, very nurturing and supportive. Excellent academics, focus on the needs of individual students as well as the class. Children are friendly and welcoming. Great quality for the price.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Campus School Of Carlow University
3333 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA  15213
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (412) 578-6158
Last modified The Campus School Of Carlow University is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top