Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Ungraded
Private
Pittsburgh, PA

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Catholic 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
Central Catholic; I graduated in 1969. Perhaps I did not fully appreciate the experience at the time. But it has served me very well everyday since. College, Graduate School, Military experience are things I had been well prepared for. Everyone there from Charlie Fahey to Big Jim Wheeler etc. had a positive effect on my development as a man.

Central Catholic 5

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
One of the finest institutions not only in pittsburgh but nationally. The school is very prestigous and often in quotes as being in the "top 3" of pittsburgh schools. (Ellis, Central, Shady Side) The school provides students with a ceomprehensive curriculm and offers many opporitunities outside the classroom. Central also takes advantage of nearby educational facilities such as those at CMU and PITT


Central Catholic 5

Posted December 22, 2010
- a community member
Central Catholic is an institution of higher education that turnes out the highest caliber workers, students, and responsible gentlemen. It instills values of leadership and comrodary that will pay off both in college and the wold beyond. Believe me, being a grad has opened countless doors and it is in all industry. Central is synonymous with men of fortitude and of strong moral base. As for the bullying, it's nonsence.. Noone, football player, basketball star, or bad ass guitar player was left out. There is no ganging up on one person or group, everyone gets flack from other students and it's reciprocated. No hard feelings felt, if your walking down the hall and your books are being held too far from your body, a friend of yours is going to smack them out of your hands all over the ground. A central man doesn't jump to anger from this atmosphere. Any graduate will tell you he laughed almost all day long and built lifetime friendships and bonds with the men they walked with on the quad. GO VIKES

Central Catholic 2

Posted September 12, 2010
- a parent
The school believes that football is king...they do not properly respond or even address bullying. I had 2 sons who attended. The experience was fine with 1 of them but with the other the administration put their "heads in the sand" and did not address bullying. After talking to many parents, this response is not unusually especially if the bullies are football team players. This response is not in-line with the school's mission.

Central Catholic 0
no rating

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
My sons both attended Central Catholic. One was an athlete and was involved in student governement, and one was involved in student governement, masque, forensics and several other activities. Both did well academically because they were pushed in a spiritual atmosphere by a great faculty. Of course there are 'boys will be boys' things. Cocky athletes? No more or less than at any other high school. Does the previous poster think these do not happen at other high schools? Central Catholic is a great high school and well worth the tuition.


Central Catholic 2

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
as an all boys school there is lots of 'boys will be boys' things. Students are selfish and ignorant. They have some of the best sports teams so most kids get cocky. Even if you do have the money, think about it.

Central Catholic 5

Posted June 19, 2009
- a student
An incredible teaching institution where the Christian Brothers make men out of boys. Army service was a breeze after attending Central!

Central Catholic 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a teacher
a first rate high school, with an excellent faculty, who care about students to an extent one would never see in public schools where teachers are government employees there for a good paycheck: believe me, I know, I have 12+ years teaching in the publics and put 3 of my kids through them. Mind you, they are good teachers, but once again are employees, Long winded answer,but written to explain the Central difference. The tuition is way to high, prohibitive for too many families. Extracurriculars are outstanding, not only football. Discipline is not what it once was and is noticably dropping, but it is a safe school, unlike some of the areas high schools.


Central Catholic 0
no rating

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
A private school for boys, Central Catholic is the premier Catholic high school in Pittsburgh. The diversity it achieves is phenomenal, drawing students from neighborhoods like the Hill Disctrict to surburban communities such as Fox Chapel. In addition, it sends numeorus students to top schools every year. The experience for my son has been wonderful.

Central Catholic 5

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Catholic
4720 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA  15213
(412) 621-8189
Last modified Central Catholic is a Private school
Central Catholic Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top