Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Canevin High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pittsburgh

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $108,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

I attended this school before it was rebranded as Bishop Canevin. Back then it was simply Canevin Catholic High School. I hope things have changed, but back then the only lesson I learned from this place was that money and popularity are everything. Since I didn't play sports and my family wasn't wealthy, the administration didn't care about me at all. I was even openly laughed at and mocked by teachers during class!


Posted November 11, 2009

My son graduated from Bishop Canevin in 2009 and I would definitely recommend this school. Kenneth Sinagra has done a great job at encouraging academic achievement and community service. If you are looking for a great school that will instill good moral values, this is the school for you. My son was accepted at every college he applied to and is currently attending a wonderful university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

my daughter is a freshman and is so happy with her choice of this school. if she's happy,i'm happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My son attended Bishop Canevin this year(2009) and I would caution parents about sending their child to this school. If your child is a self-motivated honor student that doesn't ever say boo or step out of line-- Canevin is a great school. If your child has any academic or personal issues they are not treated with respect/dignity. While some students may respond well to intimidation techniques and boot camp ideas mine did not.The teachers were not the problem. It was administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

Four of our children have graduated from Bishop Canevin and all have been very well prepared for college and adulthood. All four truly appreciated their experience at Bishop Canevin when they saw how they compared with other students at a large university. Academics, activities, athletics, and reinforcement of moral values makes this an outstanding high school. Would strongly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

I have one graduate from Canevin, as well as a child that is attending presently. I must say that this school has improved immensely in the four years the Kenneth Sinagra has been principal. I would have had reservations about recommending Canevin to a parent prior to his arrival, but the disciplinary problems have been squelched and enrollment is the highest its been in a very long time. Academically, there are a lot of great teachers at Canevin, but as you would find at any school, also some duds. Through feedback from both of my students, I believe that one only encounters the great teachers in the higher level courses. There are only 3 AP courses available, but my graduate still believes that she was well prepared for college. All in all, I would absolutely recommend this school at the state that it is in now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

My child attend this school and I think they get a award for the best school in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

canevin was great school for my sons the overall atmosphere was one of 'good moral value' and caring
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

The band program was really cool in from 1999-2002. Now it's even cooler!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 71%
Black 2% 15%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Pittsburgh
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 Morange Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15205
Phone: (412) 922-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pittsburgh Conroy
Pittsburgh, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT