Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
377 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bishop Canevin High School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful that my parents made the sacrifice and sent all 6 of their children to Bishop Canevin. I received a faith-filled and academically excellent education that more that prepared me for college. I have carried the values instilled in me into my everyday life, especially service to others. If I am in the area, I will definitely send my children to Bishop Canevin High School. It's worth every penny!

Bishop Canevin High School 1

Posted March 10, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school before it was rebranded as Bishop Canevin. Back then it was simply Canevin Catholic High School. I hope things have changed, but back then the only lesson I learned from this place was that money and popularity are everything. Since I didn't play sports and my family wasn't wealthy, the administration didn't care about me at all. I was even openly laughed at and mocked by teachers during class!


Bishop Canevin High School 4

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
My son graduated from Bishop Canevin in 2009 and I would definitely recommend this school. Kenneth Sinagra has done a great job at encouraging academic achievement and community service. If you are looking for a great school that will instill good moral values, this is the school for you. My son was accepted at every college he applied to and is currently attending a wonderful university.

Bishop Canevin High School 4

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
my daughter is a freshman and is so happy with her choice of this school. if she's happy,i'm happy

Bishop Canevin High School 2

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My son attended Bishop Canevin this year(2009) and I would caution parents about sending their child to this school. If your child is a self-motivated honor student that doesn't ever say boo or step out of line-- Canevin is a great school. If your child has any academic or personal issues they are not treated with respect/dignity. While some students may respond well to intimidation techniques and boot camp ideas mine did not.The teachers were not the problem. It was administration.


Bishop Canevin High School 5

Posted October 13, 2008
- a parent
Four of our children have graduated from Bishop Canevin and all have been very well prepared for college and adulthood. All four truly appreciated their experience at Bishop Canevin when they saw how they compared with other students at a large university. Academics, activities, athletics, and reinforcement of moral values makes this an outstanding high school. Would strongly recommend.

Bishop Canevin High School 4

Posted May 31, 2006
- a parent
I have one graduate from Canevin, as well as a child that is attending presently. I must say that this school has improved immensely in the four years the Kenneth Sinagra has been principal. I would have had reservations about recommending Canevin to a parent prior to his arrival, but the disciplinary problems have been squelched and enrollment is the highest its been in a very long time. Academically, there are a lot of great teachers at Canevin, but as you would find at any school, also some duds. Through feedback from both of my students, I believe that one only encounters the great teachers in the higher level courses. There are only 3 AP courses available, but my graduate still believes that she was well prepared for college. All in all, I would absolutely recommend this school at the state that it is in now.

Bishop Canevin High School 5

Posted September 29, 2004
- a parent
My child attend this school and I think they get a award for the best school in the city.


Bishop Canevin High School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
canevin was great school for my sons the overall atmosphere was one of 'good moral value' and caring

Bishop Canevin High School 5

Posted August 22, 2003
- a student
The band program was really cool in from 1999-2002. Now it's even cooler!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop Canevin High School
2700 Morange Road, Pittsburgh, PA  15205
(412) 922-7400
Last modified Bishop Canevin High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bishop Canevin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top